Find UK Tuition

11 plus/ Maths/ English tutor in Stamford, Lincs

Tricia 11+ exam Tutor (Peterborough)

Tricia

  • Stamford (PE9) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 15 May 2018
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Peterborough, Rutland
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am a retired primary school teacher with over 35 years in the primary field.
I am very keen for children to feel excited by challenges and learning and believe children can reach their potential with careful structure and progression.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I have a passion for primary maths but teach all areas of primary needs.
Any child needing booster classes or 11+ practice with non -verbal and verbal papers can be supported .
I do have some summer slots avaialable for supporting 11+ this year year.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I hold a B.Ed and a MAST qualification. This is a primary maths specialist award.
What kind of experience do you have?
Over 35 years in the classroom with all kinds of children. I have taught Reception to Year 6.
My experience lies in phonics for young readers and English and Mathematics in Key Stage 2.
I have experience in teaching dyslexic children and have a child myself that is dyslexic.
I have taught children for the Bourne Grammar 11+ exams and use Bond materials primarily to support their learning.
How much do you charge?
I charge £25 an hour for primary support and £30 for 11+ support and when I travel to your house.
I can travel to your home if you wish and travel costs are included in the £30 an hour rate.
All books and materials are included in the price. I do use a range of materials and online resources too.
Should you wish to pair up with another child eg 11+ pairs can work well, the charge is £ 40 an hour.
If you have a child that is slow to start reading I am happy to fit in 1/2 hour or 3/4 hour slots, depending on the child's concentration span.
Where do you teach?
My home is in the heart of Stamford very near to the High School for Girls.
I can travel to your house if you feel a home environment is better. My radius is 10 miles from Stamford.
From June I can teach in Norfolk at the beginning of the week by arrangement.
When are you available?
I am available after school Monday to Thursday. I teach at 4pm and 5:30pm. Later slots are available if you wish and your child is happy to work at a later time eg 7pm.
I am always available in school holidays and am happy to fit in booster lessons during these periods.
During holidays I can teach at any times that are convenient .
Which ages and levels do you teach?
4-12 years
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I am able to support 11+
Entrance exams to the secondary phase of education
I am very happy to support children who need extra help in basic skills who may be falling behind at primary level.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes. I hold a portable DBS which I update yearly and when we meet I give you my details to check and verify.
I also work as a teacher Peterborough on a part time basis.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I am not keen to teach online but have occasionally done do when regular pupils have been on holiday and wish to maintain contact for studying.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
NASUWT
Where and with whom did you train?
Bath University
Tell me about some of your current students.
Present;y, I am teaching Year 5/6 children in a primary school on a part time basis.
I tutor other students for the 11+ and for general primary support.
I have one pupil for two years who has been needing support with maths in year 5/6 .