Find UK Tuition

11+/ Maths/ English/ French Tutor in N Bristol - Jonathan Tilley

Jonathan Tilley 11+ exam Tutor (Bristol)

Jonathan Tilley

  • Horfield (BS7)
  • Last Logged In: 09 Apr 2018
  • Sex: Male
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am an enthusiastic, dedicated tutor with experience teaching a range of subjects to different ages, including French, English and Maths from 11+ and SATs exam level up to Oxbridge entrance preparation.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach the following subjects:
Maths: KS2, KS3, GCSE, 11+, 13+
English: KS2, KS3, GCSE, 11+, 13+
French: KS2, KS3, GCSE, 11+, 13+
Oxbridge entrance mentoring
Study skills and essay writing
Drama and theatre studies.
Tell me about your qualifications.
BA (Hons.) Oriental Studies, Oxford University, 2.1 (2008)
Cours de Civilisation Française de la Sorbonne (2009)
Postgraduate Diploma in Magazine Journalism, PMA Media Training (2010)
Certificate in Coaching and Mentoring, Culture at Work (2010)
Certificate in Teaching English as a Foreign Language, TEFL Org UK (2016)
Diploma in Theatre, Ecole internationale de théâtre Jacques Lecoq, Paris (2017)

A-levels: French, History, English Literature, Maths, Critical Thinking (AAAAB)
GCSEs: 3 A*s, 9 As
What kind of experience do you have?
I have taught children one-on-one and in groups from 4 years-old up to university level. These have ranged from private school pupils, to disadvantaged state-school students, to Afghan and Sudanese refugees living in the slums of northern France.

As well as French, English and Maths, I have extensive experience teaching theatre, such as a current position teaching a weekly class at the Bristol Old Vic theatre.
How much do you charge?
I charge £40/hour.
Where do you teach?
I teach online and in Bristol, either in students' homes or in my office where I live in Horfield, north Bristol.
When are you available?
Afternoons and evenings – please get in touch for specific availability
Which ages and levels do you teach?
11+, 13+, KS2, KS3, GCSE
I can also provide mentoring for Oxbridge applications.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Current enhanced DBS (November 2016)
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I use Skype and online whiteboard software Zoom, both of which are free to download. This is a fun, interactive way to learn and I have found it very effective.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I think sessions should be fun and enjoyable and I'm there to help students do their best and reach their full potential. It's normal to struggle with school work, but with help and determination you can achieve anything.