Find UK Tuition

Personalised mentoring service tailored to child's individual needs.

Mrs Thanvi 11+ exam Tutor (East London)

Mrs Thanvi Gold Member

  • South Woodford (E18) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 08 Jan 2018
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Barking and Dagenham, Epping Forest, Waltham Forest
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification Masters in Applied Linguistics with Distinction
  • Professional Qualification B.Ed. Maths, English Literature, Economics.
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Updated CRB
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Learning is fun if presented in the right way.
I provide personalised study programmes tailored just for your child's needs. I use latest research in Child Education, Child Psychology and Teaching Methods as my guidelines.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I prepare kids for 10+, 11+, 13+ exams for grammar and independent schools.
I prepare kids for CEM tests. CSSE. GL assessments. SAT'S.
I teach KS3 Maths
Research methods was my favourite subject in my own Masters, so I am continuously looking for new methods and logical ways to teach verbal and non verbal reasoning instead of just filling in test papers after test papers getting stuck at the same score.
I try to vary resources, and use technology where needed. I don't want to make learning time taxing, children learn better when relaxed.
Treating exams and tests as problem solving exercises or puzzles helps them score better.
Tell me about your qualifications.
Masters in Applied Linguistics with Distinction from University of London.
Masters in English Language and Literature B.Z.U
B.Ed Maths
BA English and Economics
Physics and Maths were my favourite subjects as a student and I still like working in these subjects.
I have been an honour student throughout and have secured all academic scholarships and awards available during my school, college times.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have experience in Mentoring young children.
Career Guidance for secondary school children.
I have been helping children prepare for 10+, 11+ , 13 + for both Grammar and independent school entry tests and interviews.
Experience with City of London school for girls, City of London school for boys, Colet court, Bancrofts, Forest, Chigwell, Latymer , Ilford County, Woodford County, Chelmsford, King Edward school entry tests.
I have helped children improve their skills in Maths and English in order to improve their SAT scores or just do better.
I Help children fulfil their potential.
Being the mother of 3 children under the age of 16 also gives me a better understanding of primary age children and their working behaviour.
How much do you charge?
£25-35/hr
Where do you teach?
Students come to me and I am within 10-15 minutes from the following areas
South Woodford
Wanstead
Redbridge
Leytonstone
Leyton
Wood street
Walthamstow
Chingford
Chigwell
Woodford
Snaresbrook
Clayhall
When are you available?
Weekdays evenings
Weekend Mornings
School Holidays
During the day for Homeschoolers
Which ages and levels do you teach?
Age 8 -15 for all academic disciplines.
Maths, English, Science
Creative writing
Comprehension
Preparation for SAT'S
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
11+, 13+ For all independent , grammar schools and CSSE (Consortium for selective schools in ESSEX)
Bancrofts, Forest, Chigwell, City of London schools (boys and girls)l, St Paul's, Colet Court, King Edwards Grammar school, Chelmsford County High for girls, Latymer, Ilford County, Woodford County.
SAT'S
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
Skype
Where and with whom did you train?
I am a University of London graduate with special interest in Gifted education and accelerated learning.
Tell me about some of your current students.
Currently preparing students for 11+ for Latymer, woodford county, Ilford County, King Edwards, Chelmsford, Bancrofts, Forest and Chigwell schools.
year 7 kids for 13 + tests
year 8,9,10 Maths students.
Preparing year 6 kids for theirSAT'S.
Do you have a personal message for students?
Learning is fun, I make it an interesting activity rather than a burden.
I carry out assessment of your child's education needs and style of learning.
I look at the gaps in child's education/learning and make an individualised plan to fill those gaps to build a solid base for future learning.
I use National curriculum as a guideline but am not limited by it.
Our ethos is that every child is unique and learns in his/her own way. If a child is not making progress in a subject, then the teacher needs to find a way that is better suited to that child's learning style.