Find UK Tuition

3 Degrees Tutoring - Maths Tutor in Sutton-in-Ashfield, Mansfield, Alfreton

3 Degrees Tutoring GCSE Maths Tutor (Nottingham)

3 Degrees Tutoring

  • Sutton in Ashfield (NG17) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 16 Nov 2017
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Amber Valley, Bolsover, Gedling, Mansfield
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Was your GCSE Maths grade disappointing? Is your secondary age child struggling with Maths? Are you a mature student revisiting secondary level maths? Need help? I am offering new students the first lesson for half price.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
Secondary school Mathematics is my area of training and expertise. Having taught students of many cultures I enjoy working with students from a diverse range of ethnic backgrounds.
Tell me about your qualifications.
BEd (Hons) Upper Second, University of Liverpool, 1981-85. MSc in Mathematical Modelling, Manchester Metropolitan University, 1994-95. MSc in Development Management, Open University, 1998 to 2003. RSA / Cambridge CELTA (Certificate in English Language Teaching to Adults) Hammersmith and West London College, 1996–97.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have taught Maths in a range of schools in the UK (Liverpool, London, Dronfield Woodhouse and Basildon) and in two schools in Zimbabwe, initially with VSO, an International Development Charity. My MSc in Mathematical Modelling qualification enabled me to re-join VSO, this time working in their International HQ in London recruiting teachers for their Aid programme. Relocating back to my home area I spent 3 years in a local secondary school as a Data Manager, where I additionally did 1-1 tutoring. I enjoyed this so much that I decided to return to my first love of teaching Maths. My 3 years of self-employment have been fabulous. In the months leading up to the GCSE's I was fully booked - with increasingly my students coming via word of mouth recomendations.
How much do you charge?
I offer a free, no obligation, initial consultation. I am also offering one half price lesson to new students - an incredible £10 an hour.
Where do you teach?
I prefer to travel to the student for lessons. I live in Sutton-in-Ashfield and am willing to travel to nearby towns: Mansfield, Kirkby, Alfreton, Clay Cross, Tibshelf, Normanton for example.
When are you available?
I tutor Monday to Thursday after school but also during the day for mature students / out of school students. I offer a free, no obligation, initial consultation to discuss the issues around the specific challenges maths is posing to the student and to discuss what topics they would like to cover in the initial lessons if they feel I am a tutor they can work with. I am lucky to have now filled all my after school slot teaching slots. My availability during school hours on these days is still very flexible.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I am happy to teach secondary level mathematics to students of any age.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes