Find UK Tuition

Dyslexia Success - Special Needs, English, Tutor. MK

Dyslexia Success Dyslexia Tutor (Milton Keynes)

Dyslexia Success Gold Member

  • Milton Keynes Centre (MK6) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 02 Dec 2017
  • Sex: Male
  • Web site: www.dyslexiasuccess.com
  • Can Travel To: Bedford, Central Bedfordshire, South Northamptonshire
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification Degree in assessing and tutoring Specific Learning Difficulties (Dyslexia)
  • Professional Qualification Diploma Aspergers Syndrome
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check I hold a current DBS certificate
  • Professional Membership PATOSS (Assoc member): ADSHE: NASEN: Int Dyslexia Education Assessment Services
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
My first step is always to give your child confidence to learn.
I work with children how they learn and as they could be-so that they will attain that level.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I specialize in supporting children with dyslexia and other learning difficulties; especially with reading, writing & spelling.
Tell me about your qualifications.
Associate member of Professional Association for Teachers and Assessors of Students with Specific Learning Difficulties (SpLD)
The Association of Dyslexia Specialists in Higher Education
Dyslexia Guild
I hold the SASC Form 8 Assessor: DA 15512-1916OL. It means that I am qualified to assess children for reasonable adjustments provision in GCSE exams
I hold qualifications in assessing and teaching children and students with Dyslexia and other learning difficulties including Asperger's syndrome (ASD), ADHD, Dyspraxia, and Dyscalculia.
I am a qualified trainer of TextHelp Read & Write.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have 25 years experience of supporting children and adults,(including higher education) assessing and working on a 1-2-1 basis.
I have a particular gift in helping children who cannot read and write or at a basic level, having been very successful in helping them.
I have vast experience in teaching study skills and have developed learning programmes in spelling and reading for individuals.
I am continually working on my professional development by attending training days.
How much do you charge?
There is a free consultation before tuition commences. There is no charge for the initial meeting to discuss your child's needs.
I charge £30-£35, which includes a full learning programme and recommendations how your child should be supported.

There is no charge for travelling within the Milton Keynes & Bedford area.
Where do you teach?
Teaching can be at my office in Bedford, near the university or at the child's home, which can be in the Bedford or Milton Keynes area.
At the agreement of the child's head teacher, I also teach within the school setting.

Other areas can be negotiated.
When are you available?
I am available to tutor:
Monday to Friday during the day or evenings 4 to 7.
Saturdays: 12.30 to 2
I do not teach on Sundays as it is my family time
Which ages and levels do you teach?
Children from age 4 years-16
Adults 16 plus
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I prepare students for GCSE and A level exams.
I assist university students in completing their degree.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes- renewed July 2017
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I tutor students who are out of my recommended area via Skype.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
I am an associate member of Professional Association for Teachers and Assessors of Students with Specific Learning Difficulties (SpLD)
The Association of Dyslexia Specialists in Higher Education
National Association for Special Educational Needs
Dyslexia Guild
International Dyslexia Education Assessment Services.
Where and with whom did you train?
I initially trained with the Dyslexia Institute (Now Dyslexia Action) and Kingston University.
I was trained in Aspergers (ASD) at Sheffield Hallam University.
Tell me about some of your current students.
Two students doing Masters degrees at university. 1 student at university
Two children are studying for GCSEs.
One student studying for B Tech National Diploma
I child at Key Stage 1 dyspraxia and Dyscalculia
One 8-year-old child with Aspergers & Dyscalculia
Four children Key Stage 2 with Dyslexia
Two children Key Stage 3 with Dyslexia (1 with Dyspraxia)
Do you have a personal message for students?
My support is always provided in a fun way, with teaching you how you learn not how I did.
It is nothing like school! :-)
The innovative methods I use have changed the negativity of students into a positive outlook on education.
Part of the tuition is carried out on my touch screen laptop, by advanced interactive learning games.