Find UK Tuition

Dr Helen Mathers - EFL/English Tutor and Editor

Dr Helen Mathers Dissertation/ Proofreading Tutor (Kirkcaldy)

Dr Helen Mathers

  • East Neuk (KY10)
  • Last Logged In: 09 May 2018
  • Sex: Female
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am an experienced teacher of students over 16. I can meet your English language needs and help you to improve your grades. I will edit your essays and dissertations and give you advice about how to improve your standard of academic English.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach English writing, grammar, speaking and reading. I can help with study skills and improve your essays and dissertations. I can help with access to college and university. [Please note I don't teach EFL beginners].

I also teach A level General Studies.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a BA (Hons) in History and Politics, and a PhD in History. I have the CELTA qualification to teach international students and Diplomas in teaching university and adult students.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have been an editor and private tutor in English for several years. I also teach for the Open University, helping first-year students to deal with the demands of undergraduate study.
I have taught many postgraduate dissertation students and specialise in the humanities and social sciences. I have edited many Ph.D and Masters theses.
I have taught access courses in humanities and ‘returning to study’ at Sheffield University, and taught History undergraduates at both Sheffield and Sheffield Hallam universities.
How much do you charge?
I charge £20 per hour for proof-reading and editing your work. I will try to tell you in advance how much I think it will cost.

For one to one or online lessons, I charge £24 per hour. I may have to charge extra for travel- it depends on where you wish the lesson to take place.
Where do you teach?
Quite a lot of my work is online, looking at written drafts and improving them. I also teach via skype.
I sometimes teach at my home, in north Sheffield. More often, I travel to students’ homes or a meeting place of their choice.
I can often help you at short notice - just ask.
When are you available?
I am available for consultation on any day, at any time, up to 10 pm. Just send me an email or text. Tutorials can be held at any time of day, by arrangement.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach all ages from 16 to 90 !
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I help students to prepare for university exams of all kinds in humanities and social sciences, undergraduate and postgraduate. I also tutor A Level General Studies.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
Students contact me by email to ask for help. If proof-reading help is needed, I will correct an email attachment and send it back when I have received payment. I can normally do this quite quickly.
I can also conduct tutorials by skype using materials emailed to the student.
Payments for online tutoring and editing are made by direct transfer to my bank account.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
Universities and Colleges Union (for teachers); Society of Authors
Where and with whom did you train?
Sheffield University for all my qualifications. I gained CELTA in 2011.
Tell me about some of your current students.
One of my students was disappointed by her first set of A Level grades and decided to retake them using private tutors. I was her private tutor for the General Studies curriculum.

I helped a Somali woman to prepare for a college English GCSE course. We looked at the curriculum and practised a lot of the exercises in advance. Now that she is on the course I am helping her with coursework she finds difficult.

I have edited the coursework of many school and university students, from A Level essays up to PhD theses.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I can help you! Coping with written work and exams, especially with a deadline looming, is very demanding and can be stressful. I will help with your immediate problems, and also advise on how to develop better skills for academic work. As an experienced private tutor, I will focus on your needs and your needs only. You will not be part of a class. It is worth paying for extra help, just for you, sometimes !
I can help you to: · Improve your writing. · Express yourself more clearly and precisely. · Get better grades. · Solve problems you have with using the English language at university. · Cope with exams.