Find UK Tuition

English Tutor and 11+ Exams in Hampstead, North London

Joanna Griffin 11+ exam Tutor (North West London)

Joanna Griffin Gold Member

  • Brondesbury Park (NW10)
  • Last Logged In: 21 May 2018
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Camden, City of London, Haringey, Islington, Southwark, Waltham Forest, Westminster

This tutor is temporarily unavailable

  • Professional Qualification BA English and Drama - University of Bristol 2005-2008
  • Professional Qualification Post Graduate Acting - The London Academy of Music and Dramatic Art 2009-2011
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Yes, I have an enhanced CRB certificate
  • Professional Membership Griffin and Bell Education, Bespoke Tuition
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I tutor because I love to see my pupils excel and reach their full potential. I aim to make my sessions informative and enjoyable so my pupils look forward to tuition. Education should be inspiring, not a chore.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
English Language and Literature - ages 5 - 18, including 11+, GCSE and A-Level
Maths - ages 5 - 11
11+ Entrance Exams - English, Maths, Verbal and Non-Verbal Reasoning

I am also a professional actress and writer so I have extensive experience coaching public speaking, presentational skills and auditioning for drama schools.
I also offer support for LAMDA examinations
Tell me about your qualifications.
BA English and Drama - University of Bristol, 2005-2008
Post-Graduate Acting - The London Academy of Music and Dramatic Arts, 2009-2011
A-Levels - AAA in English, Politics and Theatre Studies
AS-Levels - AAAA in English, Politics, Philosophy and Theatre Studies
GCSEs - A* x 9 in English Language, English Literature, Maths (taken one year early), Dual Science (Biology, Chemistry, Physics), French, Philosophy, Latin, Drama

Vocational:
Post Graduate Degree in Professional Acting - LAMDA (The London Academy of Music and Dramatic Art) 2009-2011
What kind of experience do you have?
Over the past seven years, I have tutored pupils aged 5 to 18 in English Literature, English Language and Maths.
I hаve extensive experience оf 11+ Cоmmоn Entrаnce exаminаtiоns, including Verbаl аnd Nоn-Verbаl Reаsоning. I have successfully tutored pupils for entry to a range of London schools such as: North London Collegiate, City of London, Haberdashers' Aske's, South Hampstead, Channing, Highgate, Godolphin & Latymer

During my time as a pupil at North London Collegiate, I was also Head Girl in my final year. As a result, I have first hand experience and an in depth knowledge of the ethos of NLCS and schools of a similar calibre.

As an actress, I have worked extensively at the Donmar Warehouse - "Dazzlingly intelligent and courageous, Joanna's an artist to watch" - Josie Rourke (Donmar / Channel 4). I am represented by talent agency, Scott Marshall Partners and as a writer/performer, I have been featured in The Guardian, The Independent and on the BBC.

From 2011 to 2012 I worked for Perform, a drama school for 4-12 year olds. This involved running weekly workshops for medium sized groups of 4-7 year olds and where I gained experience in coaching pupils for LAMDA examinations.
How much do you charge?
11+ - £50
GCSE -£50
A-Level - £50

Other levels/subjects to be negotiated.
1 extra student = £10 p/h
Where do you teach?
East London / North London / Central London
I am based in NE London, UK, and am willing to travel to students' homes (within a reasonable distance). I can also meet pupils in coffee shops or libraries as preferred.

Please include the area where you live on first contact.
When are you available?
As a freelance writer and actress, my teaching times are very flexible, including all weekdays and weekends, day and evening (including school holidays).
Which ages and levels do you teach?
Ages 5 - 18 depending on subject (see Subjects).

This includes 11+, GCSE and A-Level
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
KS1, 2, 3, Common Entrance exams, GCSE, A level.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes, I have an enhanced DBS certificate
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I have tutored a number of International pupils as well as UK pupils who want to continue tuition if they are out of the country during the school holidays. I tutor over Skype and organise sessions tailored to suit the pupil's schedule and availability (factoring in any timezone differences). Typically, I would email materials in advance and pupils email their responses back ahead of our Skype session, so feedback and further exercises can be prepared. We then use the Skype hour to discuss any issues in further detail and to work on identified problem areas.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
Griffin and Bell Education, Bespoke Tuition