Find UK Tuition

Laura Evans - English Tutor - private lessons - Worthing

Laura Evans GCSE English Tutor (Brighton)

Laura Evans Silver Member

  • Central Worthing (BN11) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 26 Sep 2017
  • Sex: Female
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BA (Hons) English Language and Literature (Somerville College, Oxford)
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Enhanced CRB disclosure
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I'm a friendly tutor with a strong academic background and a passion for literature - please get in touch if you need help.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach English Language GCSE, English Literature GCSE, English Language A level, English Literature A level, and English Literature at degree level. I also teach general essay writing skills for students who wish to improve their academic writing style. I only work during school hours which, for GCSE level, tends to suit college students doing English GCSE re-sits, adult learners studying GCSE English, or students who are homeschooled. At A level and beyond, I prefer teaching English Literature because this is where my expertise lies. Having said that, I do have basic knowledge of English Language A level courses and have taught them recently with success. Sorry, I do not offer EFL tuition.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a BA (Hons) degree in English Language and Literature from Oxford University. I have four A levels at A grade, in English Literature, History, Art and History of Art. I also have 10 GCSEs, all at A*, A and B grade. I am happy to show you my certificates when we meet.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have been a private English tutor for 8 years. As a graduate, I worked for Oxford University Admissions Office, delivering a programme of ‘Aspiration Days’ designed to encourage and inspire school pupils to aim high. Previous teaching experience includes mentoring Year 8 pupils, and working for one year in a secondary school as an Academic Coach, tutoring students at risk of underachieving at GCSE level. Furthermore, in 2011 I was employed by a local school to work with small groups of C/D borderline English students in Year 11, a position funded through the 'Aim Higher' scheme.
How much do you charge?
My prices are above.
Where do you teach?
I live in Central Worthing and host sessions in my flat. If you are willing to travel to me, that would be much appreciated, as my working time is limited to when my daughter is at school. However, I may be able to travel to your home if you live nearby, or I can offer online tuition via Skype/email contact.
When are you available?
I am always available for email support and proofreading/editing work. For face-to-face sessions, I work Monday to Friday during term-time. I currently have availability during the week, but only during the 9.30am-2.30pm (ish) timeslot. I don't teach at weekends, although I am still contactable and happy to undertake essay feedback or editing work at this time.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I have a lot of experience working with GCSE and AS/A2 students (14-18 year old age group); however, I am enthusiastic and passionate about English and am always willing to work with a pupil who wants to improve in the subject. My particular passion is for literature, so I really enjoy analysing texts, helping pupils "unlock" a novel, or Shakespeare play, or poetry. However, I am interested in all aspects of the subject and very happy to teach those who want to learn. I appreciate that, with the recent changes made in English schools, students now face a lot more pressure over exams, so I aim to do exam-based practice throughout the year to get rid of the nerves and uncertainty regarding exam questions and how to answer them.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
English Language and English Literature GCSE examinations, as well as A level English Language and English Literature examinations. I have in-depth knowledge of AQA exam board courses, including the iGCSE. I have also helped students prepare for the Cambridge Pre-U in English Literature, the Oxford admissions exam for English (ELAT) and the QTS literacy test.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have an up-to-date DBS certificate, dated October 2014, and have just applied for a renewal (in September 2017). I am more than happy to show you my certification upon first meeting, or via email if requested. I also completed a training course on child protection issues in February 2017.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
For online tuition, I use both conversational and written guidance (a combination of Skype and email contact). I can also offer email contact on its own, if all that is required is proofreading an essay, or offering advice on an author/essay question/exam paper. I always aim to give detailed, clear feedback.
Where and with whom did you train?
I gained my extensive knowledge of literature from studying at Oxford University, where the requirement is to write at least an essay a week on a wide-ranging span of topics and authors ranging from Old English to the present day. I have been involved in teaching for 10 years now and feel that my skills as a teacher are being honed and improved each year.
Tell me about some of your current students.
Last year I worked with two Year 11 students who secured a level 5 for English Language GCSE, having been getting level 3 when they started tuition with me. I was delighted as it meant they could continue onto college. I also worked with two A level students studying AQA English Language or English Lit/Lang courses who both aimed to secure a C grade (which both achieved). I also provided weekly essay feedback for a student studying the Cambridge pre-U course, which I enjoyed immensely, and supported a student studying an Access Course for Nursing, who needed guidance to write formal essays. She passed her course and is now at university. All in all, my students either met their target grade or exceeded it. I was so pleased for them all! The focus for most of these students was to improve writing style and analytical abilities. Often they understood the content, but needed more help to write in a formal and academic way. We spent time looking over past papers and completing practice questions, to which I always provided detailed feedback and tips for improvement next time.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I am friendly, patient, approachable person who enjoys tutoring. I get immense pleasure from reading and writing and would like to help you to achieve your best in your English studies – and perhaps even exceed your own expectations.