Find UK Tuition

English tutor working North west London Mill Hill Hendon Hampstead

Simon Warner Key Stage 3 English Tutor (North West London)

Simon Warner Gold Member

  • Mill Hill (NW7)
  • Last Logged In: 16 Mar 2018
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Brent, Camden, Haringey, Harrow
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification English Literature and Language
  • Professional Qualification PGCE in English Literature and Language
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Up-to-date CRB
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am an examiner of English Language GCSE, a full time English secondary school teacher and experienced tutor.

I AM RUNNING INTENSIVE COURSES FOR AQA GCSE ENGLISH EXAMS OVER THE EASTER HOLIDAY. GET IN TOUCH FOR MORE DETAILS.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
English Literature and Language at secondary level.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I studied English Language and Literature at Leeds University and then went on to do my teacher training- PGCE- at the Institute of Education, now UCL. I became a qualified teacher in 2013, after having completed my first year at St Saviours and St Olaves school.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have taught and trained at a variety of schools; in a high achieving private school and a range of state schools. Such variety means I can cater for all students, having had experience teaching a range of abilities and personality types.

I have taught all key stages including A Level- and again, have taught to a range of abilities at each.

As well as being a teacher I am also an examiner of GCSE English Language. Because of this, I know exactly what students have to do to succeed in the English exams, and how best to prepare for them- already when in KS3, or closer to the exam when they are in Year 10 or 11.

I have also tutored the subject for 7 years now, starting the summer I graduated university. I have had many successes over the years, and at all levels: I have helped students make big gains in the earlier years, and enabled older pupils to fulfil their potential.
How much do you charge?
I charge £40 for key stages 3, 4 and 5.
Where do you teach?
I teach at home, though mostly I teach at the student's home as it's more convenient for parents. I live in Mill Hill and don't mind travelling to Hendon, Finchley, Edgware, Harrow, Stanmore, Wembley. Providing it's not too far away I don't mind travelling to accommodate you.
When are you available?
Free all day during school holidays. During term time I normally begin tutoring around five pm, and earlier on a Friday. I am free some mornings as well.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
KS3, KS4, KS5
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I prepare students for GCSE and A Level exams.

I run a highly effective retake course for GCSE English Language.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I teach in a school, so yes.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
Have access to Skype, so not a problem.
Where and with whom did you train?
I did my PGCE at the Institute of Education, now UCL.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I have seen students do far better than they thought they possibly could as a result of my help. Tuition with a qualified teacher will bring about big gains.