Find UK Tuition

English -all levels, Greek, JazzPop Singing Tutor in SouthEast London

Helen Skarpari A-level English Tutor (South East London)

Helen Skarpari Gold Member

  • Charlton Park (SE7) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 17 Feb 2018
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: City of London, Lewisham
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BA English (Lancaster University)
  • Professional Qualification MA English (Warwick University), MMus Music Performance (Kingston University), Drama studies at the City Lit
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check DBS
  • Professional Membership PRS/ TES/CASTING CALL PRO/MUSIC UNION/ GUILD OF SONGWRITERS AND COMPOSERS
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Thank you for visiting my page. Please feel free to contact me if you wish to discuss tuition further. I'm sure I can help.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach English, from KS1 up to graduate level, catering for GCSE, A level, IGCSE (First and Second Language), IELTS, Common Entrance Exams & Interview Preparation, 11+ 12+ 13+ , Verbal Reasoning, TOEFL, SATS, as well as QTS, Modern Greek and Pop Singing. I especially enjoy helping tutees with their academic and creative writing. I consider myself lucky to have had several of my short stories and poetry published over the last ten years. Writing is one of my passions! I also offer copy-writing, copy-editing and proofreading services. I'm bilingual and have been teaching Modern Greek for the past ten years. I also teach drama, and help with accents, pronunciation and monologue/audition learning. I am an active performer, singer/songwriter, and actor. As an actor I have commercial/short film/theatre and feature film experience. I trained for five years in London and Hamburg (with P.E.M. Perdekamp Emotional Training) more recently, in the Meisner technique.

In terms of offering vocal tuition to singers, I focus on:

• Breathing exercises

• Extending singing range

• Creating character expression
• Maintaining vocal health

• Building confidence in performance

• Microphone technique
• Improvisation



Songwriting one to one intensive lessons are also offered. Many of my students are already performing songs we have written during our workshops and one has recently won a school award for best song.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have an MA in English Literature from Warwick University, a BA in English from Lancaster University, and an MA In Music Performance, for which I was awarded a scholarship, a distinction and the music prize from Kingston University. I've also completed six years of drama studies (three years of Acting at the City Lit, and a one year Drama Foundation, for which I was awarded a bursary and a distinction). Additionally, I trained for a year at Impulse Theatre Company with Scott Williams who offers Meisner based training in London. I also trained in P.E.M.( a contemporary German acting method) after having been granted a scholarship: http://www.pem-acting.com/uk-programmes/scholarship-2014/
What kind of experience do you have?
I am a professional actor/singer/songwriter/tutor and writer.

My experience in the education sector spans a period of 14 years. Amongst other placements, I have worked for three years as a part-time English lecturer at the University of Nicosia, Cyprus, teaching academic writing, creative writing and research skills. I have also taught English at The Grammar School in Nicosia, Cyprus. Additionally, I have worked for Tudor BEC College, Progress Tutoring & Education, Tutor house London Tutors, Fleet Tutors, Kensington & Chelsea Tutors and more recently, Holland Park Tutors & Greater London Tutors.

I have extensive editorial experience, having worked as copy editor for three years for View Magazine, an English publication in Cyprus. I was also editor of a newsletter produced by The Mediterranean Institute of Gender Studies (NGO) in Cyprus, as part of my project administration and management role there from September 2006 to February 2008. In addition, I was co-editor of the publication Dialogues of Self and Other, sponsored by the Anna Lindh Foundation, in 2008.

My work as freelance writer, translator, proofreader and editor is ongoing; I have contributed material for publications and consumer product websites since 2005, and have published short stories, poetry and articles in the UK, Cyprus, France, Egypt and Spain.

As an active singer/songwriter and performer/actor, I also offer vocal tuition, songwriting courses, and drama lessons.
I've released my debut EP album this past month:
https://echowantshervoiceback.bandcamp.com/releases
How much do you charge?
My rates begin at £45.00/hr. A-level work as well as undergraduate or post graduate work is charged at £50.00/hr.

A-level English £50.00/hr
English as a Foreign Language (EFL) £45.00/hr (includes IELTS, TOEFL, SATS).
Essay Writing £45.00/hr (academic and/or creative writing)
GCSE English £45.00/hr

11+ Common Entrance Exam £45.00/hr
13+ Common Entrance Exam £45.00/hr

Key Stage 1 English £45.00/hr
Key Stage 2 English £45.00/hr
Key Stage 3 English £45.00/hr

Proofreading £50.00/hr

Songwriting £50.00/hr
Jazz/ Pop Singing £50.00/hr
Drama £50.00/hr

Modern Greek £50.00/hr

Proofreading costs - Prices vary depending on the text that is to be proofread; for this reason, I must see the source text before giving a quote

CANCELLATIONS POLICY
All cancellations must be received (via telephone call, text or email) at least 48 hours prior to an agreed lesson time, in order to avoid forfeiting the lesson and being charged. Clients who cancel with less than 48hours' notice will be charged for the cancelled session. If a client does not show for an agreed lesson, the client will be charged.
Where do you teach?
I generally tutor in my area, Charlton, Westcombe Park Station/Blackheath, Greenwich (South East London). I can travel to your home, depending on the location, or teach in local libraries across South East London, including Deptford, Lewisham, Greenwich and Peckham.

I also tutor online and these sessions are quite popular. Feel free to contact me for further details.
When are you available?
My weekly schedule varies as I am busiest during secondary school half-term and holidays. At the moment I am available at various times during the week and weekends. Please get in touch for more details!
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach primary, secondary graduate and post graduate level courses. I also help writers with editing/proofreading and teach all general English conversational, writing and reading skills to students of all ages.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
11+ 12+ and 13+ Common Entrance Exams & Interviews
A Level English Language & Literature
GCSE English Language & Literature
IELTS
TOEFL
SATS
GCSE Modern Greek
IGCSE
University English
BA English Literature
MA English Literature
Creative Writing
Academic Writing
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes!
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
Some of my students prefer online tutoring as it saves time on travelling. Contact me for further details.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
PRS -Performing Right Society

PPL -Phonographic Performance Limited

Musicians' Union

Casting Call Pro

VIDLA -Vocal International Distance Learning Academy

TES - Education/Teaching Resources

PEM - Perdekamp Emotional Method - Open Acting Academy, Germany

THE GUILD OF INTERNATIONAL SONGWRITERS & COMPOSERS
Do you have a personal message for students?
I've always believed that the best teachers are able to practice their craft and then teach it with the same passion. This is what I try to do. I love my work: writing, languages, music, performance and drama. What I love, I share with enthusiasm and and all the knowledge and experience I've so far been lucky enough to gain over the years. So if you're lacking in confidence or have a certain skill you'd like to develop, you've come to the right tutor. I can creatively tailor the lessons to your needs and help you improve with dedication and hard work!