Find UK Tuition

E Heseltine - History, Psychology, English, Sociology, SEN Tutor

Emma Heseltine A-level History Tutor (Northampton)

Emma Heseltine Silver Member

  • Wollaston (NN29)
  • Last Logged In: 16 Mar 2018
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Bedford, City of London, East Northamptonshire, Islington, Kettering, Milton Keynes, Northampton
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification University of Cambridge MA (Hons)
  • Professional Qualification The Open University MSc
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check I have an Enhanced CRB
  • Professional Membership GTC
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
My aim is always to build a positive and supportive relationship with students. I develop tutoring programmes with the student so that our work together is clearly focused on areas that they have identified for development.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I have taught History, Psychology, Sociology, English, Geography and RE. I have also tutored for Functional Skills and Study Skills. I have considerable experience supporting students with extended writing skills such as A Level independent investigations or degree dissertations.
Tell me about your qualifications.
MA (Hons) History
BSc Psychology with Sociology
MA Special Educational Needs
MSc Research Methods
PGCE History and RE
ALCM Piano Performance
ATCL Piano Performance
Completed three years of doctoral research
What kind of experience do you have?
I have taught in secondary schools for 18 years during which time I have been a Head of Department in a school, a Special Needs Coordinator and a Gifted and Talented Coordinator. I am an experienced examiner for both A Level and GCSE courses: across my career I have examined for OCE, CIE, Edexcel, WJEC and AQA. My tutoring experience involves both in-person tuition and online. The latter has included working with students who are home educated during which I have delivered entire A Level (Psychology and Sociology) and iGCSE courses (History and RE).

I also have significant experience working with students who have additional needs. This has included managing specialist provisions for academically able students who have autism, Aspergers and dyslexia. I am also experienced in working with young people who have high anxiety levels.
How much do you charge?
My usual tutoring fee is in the £35-40 range. I am happy to teach A Level and GCSE courses with the fees for these being discussed on an individual basis. If tuition involves extensive travel then there may be an additional cost for this.
Where do you teach?
I tutor online and at students' homes. I live in a village which is equidistant from Milton Keynes, Northampton and Bedford. I work for part of the week in the City of London and have some availability in Central/North London.
When are you available?
I have weekday and weekend availability. I tutor during both school term and holiday times.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I have worked predominantly with secondary aged students and adults.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
A Level, GCSE and iGCSE. I also support undergraduate students with writing skills for essays and dissertations.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I am experienced in using online platforms both to tutor and to teach.