Find UK Tuition

Maths/ English/ Primary Tutor in Towcester - Melissa Wood

Melissa Wood Key Stage 2 Maths Tutor (Northampton)

Melissa Wood

  • Blakesley and Cote (NN12)
  • Last Logged In: 13 Apr 2018
  • Sex: Female

This tutor is temporarily unavailable

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am a highly experienced primary school teacher offering private tuition for children from the ages of 4-11. I tutor in the core subjects of Maths and English and have extensive knowledge and experience in delivering all aspects of these subjects.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach Maths and English. This involves all areas as needed, such as phonics, reading comprehension, SPAG (spelling, punctuation and grammar), maths arithmetic and maths reasoning.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I gained a BA (QTS) in Teacher Education from Oxford Brookes University in 2002.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have a huge amount of experience in teaching and tutoring. As well as being a class teacher, I have tutored privately for the past 15 years. In that time I have worked with hundreds of children, both on a short and long term basis, whatever has been required. Additionally, I work part-time for the local county council tutoring children who are not in mainstream education. I have also been employed by a local primary school to tutor children within school who need extra help.
How much do you charge?
I charge £32 per hour. I offer a free first lesson and consultation.
Where do you teach?
I tutor from my house in Litchborough, near Towcester. I tutor children from several of the local villages and towns, such as Towcester, Blakesley, Pattishall, Greens Norton, Silverstone, Weedon, Daventry, Gayton and many more.
When are you available?
I tutor during the day, evening and at weekends. I tutor during term time and holidays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach children from the ages of 4-11. I am happy to teach children in the year prior to them starting school to help them prepare for their first year at school.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I can prepare children for the year 2 and year 6 SATs test and also for the year 1 phonics screening test.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes
Tell me about some of your current students.
I currently have 12 students I tutor on a weekly basis, plus several others who come to me in the holidays in order to help them prepare for the next academic year/term. I am happy to discuss your particular needs, whether that is term time tuition, holiday tuition or a combination of both.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I am a very kind, caring and patient tutor. Children feel safe when we work together and this enables them to progress in their learning. My aim is to give them the confidence to do well and enjoy learning. I am absolutely passionate about teaching and look forward to helping your child succeed.