Find UK Tuition

Maria_Language_Tutor_London

Maria A. French (general) Tutor (South East London)

Maria A. Gold Member

  • Central Lewisham (SE13) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 11 May 2018
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Bromley, City of London, Croydon, Greenwich, Hackney, Islington, Kensington and Chelsea, Southwark
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I have a genuine passion for the subjects that I teach and I have worked with pupils of all ages and backgrounds. Therefore, I will therefore always be able to uncover the beauty in each subject while making it accessible, interesting, and friendly.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
French, German, Spanish, English as a second language, Romanian, and Drama.
Tell me about your qualifications.
2011 - MA Acting/ Drama - University Of Essex
2010 - BA Acting/ Drama - "Spiru Haret" University
2009 - BA Languages
2007 - Cambridge Certificate Of Proficiency In English
What kind of experience do you have?
Since leaving university, I have been working as a private tutor teaching mainly GCSE French and German, but also English as a foreign language, Spanish and Romanian. I have worked with children and adults not only in my capacity as tutor, but also as a workshop leader, both in the UK, and abroad.
How much do you charge?
My fee is £25/ hour for one-on-one lessons (unless you live within walking distance of my house) and £20/ hour for online tuition.
Where do you teach?
I usually travel to my pupil's home, although I am also happy to have lessons in my apartment in Oval (very accessible, a two-minute walk from Oval station and ten minutes from Vauxhall). I am willing to travel up to zone 6.
When are you available?
My schedule is very flexible, as I am freelance. Currently, I am available weekends late afternoons, but I prefer to schedule each session on a weekly basis.

I do not have a strict cancellation policy, as I understand that unpredicted things can come up at any time. Therefore, even in case of last minute cancellation, I will charge you nothing.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I have experience working with children of all ages, as well as adult learners.

I teach all levels of English as a foreign language, and Romanian.

I can teach Drama up to University level, and can cover French, German, and Spanish up to A-level.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
So far, I have mainly prepared students for GCSE and A-level exams, but have also tutored KS3 students and casual learners.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes, my DBS certificate is valid until October 2016.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I tutor online over Skype and require payment in advance for each session. I am very flexible in terms of schedule.
Do you have a personal message for students?
Learning a new language (be it a foreign language or the language of theatre) opens up the door into a new world. More than just a code of communication, a new language is the doorway into a new culture and can give you immense satisfaction once you acquire a level of fluency. I can help initiate you into this journey or help you along the way, and I guarantee if will be worth it.