Find UK Tuition

Aletta Verwoerd - Maths/ English/ Proofreading Tutor in Hackney

Aletta Verwoerd Dissertation/ Proofreading Tutor (East London)

Aletta Verwoerd Gold Member

  • Bethnal Green (E2) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 07 Jul 2017
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: City of London, Hackney, Haringey, Islington
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am an enthusiastic tutor with a great skill for helping students to prepare for exams and deadlines in a fun and efficient way. I teach Maths and English up to GCSE level and also help academic students to successfully finish their dissertation.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach Maths and English up to GCSE level and academic writing (essay writing, dissertation proofreading) to undergraduate and graduate students in the humanities.
Tell me about your qualifications.
MRes Media Studies (with Honours)
BA Media and Culture
Minor Arts Policy and -Management
What kind of experience do you have?
After graduating with honours from the Research Master’s Media Studies (With Honours, 2013) I gained work experience as a lecturer in Film Studies, Philosophy of Science and Academic Writing at the University of Amsterdam. Alongside my work for the university I initiated my own tutoring agency and helped (under)graduates to reach their academic potential. At the moment I work as a motivational trainer for GCSE students and I tutor primary and secondary school students in preparation for their exams (KS1, KS2, 11Plus, KS3 and GCSE).
How much do you charge?
Maths and English (Primary level: KS1, KS2): £27 an hour
Maths and English (Secondary level: 11Plus, KS3, GCSE): £30 an hour
Essay writing and Dissertation proofreading (Degree level: undergraduate, graduate) : £35 an hour
Where do you teach?
I am based in Bethnal Green (E2) and always teach at students' homes. I travel up to ten miles of E2 and most of my students are based in Tower Hamlets, Hackney, Islington, City of London and Haringey.
When are you available?
I am available on Mon-Thurs from 9.00am to 8.00pm and on the weekend after 4.00pm.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach primary level students in preparation for their KS1 and KS2 exams (ages 5-11; year 1-6), secondary level students in preparation for their 11Plus, KS3 and GCSEs (age 11-17, year 7-11), and at degree level I tutor students (undergraduate and graduate students in the humanities) during their dissertation writing process.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I prepare students for their 11 Plus entrance exams for prestigious secondary schools (among others, City of London School, Haberdashers' Aske's School and Westminster School). I also help academic students to finish their dissertations successfully and on time; an accomplishment that leads to an undergraduate or graduate degree.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes, I have an enhanced and up-to-date DBS Certificate.