Find UK Tuition

Alexander Wilberforce - English/ Maths/ 11+ Tutor in High Weald

Alexander Wilberforce 11+ exam Tutor (Tonbridge)

Alexander Wilberforce Silver Member

  • Hawkhurst (TN18)
  • Last Logged In: 16 Dec 2017
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Rother

This tutor is temporarily unavailable

  • Professional Qualification M.A.(Modern Languages) Oxford University
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Current DBS
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Oxford educated, I specialise in the Kent Test for local grammar schools. I also prepare children for Japanese, Latin and French GCSEs; at KS2, I have taught core National Curriculum subjects to private and government clients.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
Kent Test - English, Maths and Reasoning (Verbal & Non-Verbal)
GCSE- Latin, Japanese, French
KS2 English & Maths
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have an MA from Oxford University in Modern Languages (French & Latin/Spanish) and subsequently learnt Japanese while teaching and working for a decade in Tokyo. I have recently completed a Child Safeguarding Course. I spent two weeks in France during August, during which time I was complimented on my French.
What kind of experience do you have?
At the beginning of my career, I taught English for two years to trainee diplomats and senior civil servants at the Foreign Ministry Training Institute in Tokyo;
since 2009, I have worked in the UK for a major tutoring agency face-to-face and online.

More recently, I have tutored my own children for the Kent Test - both of whom were successful, winning places at Tonbridge Grammar School and Skinners, despite the younger requiring a steep learning curve.
How much do you charge?
£25 per hour, including travel, after free initial consultation meeting
£25 per hour online
Where do you teach?
I teach in students' homes in the High Weald area straddling the Kent/East Sussex border: Cranbrook, Hawkhurst, Bodiam, Sedlescombe, Hastings, Battle
When are you available?
I am flexible, depending on the needs of the student's family
Which ages and levels do you teach?
Year 2-11
All levels
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes.

I have also just completed a Child Safeguarding Course and am training to become a foster carer
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I use Skype
Tell me about some of your current students.
I am teaching Latin from scratch to a boy who wants to take Common Entrance in two years' time
Do you have a personal message for students?
At our first meeting, I wlll assess your strengths and weaknesses, and then work together to achieve success,