Find UK Tuition

Alice Aylward - Biology/ Chemistry/ History Tutor in Dulwich

Alice Aylward A-level Biology Tutor (South East London)

Alice Aylward Gold Member

  • East Dulwich (SE22) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 14 Feb 2018
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: City of London, Croydon, Lambeth, Lewisham
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification 1st class BSc Biomedical Sciences with Physiology (Hons) from the University of Edinburgh (2010-2014)
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Available on request
  • References References are available upon request


(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Hello, I am a final year medical student at Imperial College London with 9 years of tutoring experience.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
A-levels: Chemistry, Biology and History.
GCSEs: Chemistry, Biology and History.
University entrance exams: UKCAT, BMAT, GAMSAT
Tell me about your qualifications.
I am currently training to be a doctor (MBBS (Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery)) at Imperial College London. In 2014, I was awarded the Faculty of Medicine Scholarship and I obtained a Distinction* award in my most recent medical school exams, which means I came in the top 10% of my year.

First Class Bachelor of Science with Honours (BSc (Hons)) in Biomedical Sciences with Physiology, June 2014 from the University of Edinburgh.

A Levels (3As) in Chemistry, Biology and History, and AS Level in Art (A) in 2009 (before the A* grade was introduced).

GCSEs (5A*s and 4As) in Science Double Award, History, Art, English Language, English Literature, French, Music, and Maths.
What kind of experience do you have?
9 years of tutoring experience

I have experience of tutoring GCSE to university level. My first tutoring experience was working as a nanny and tutor in Herne Hill, and as a Biology laboratory assistant at Alleyn's School in Dulwich, South East London.

Since 2015, I have been tutoring GCSE and A level students weekly. In 2016, my three GCSE students all scored (A*s, As and Bs) on results day. In 2017, my A level student achieved an A* and A in Chemistry and Biology, and thus sailed into their place at a top Russell group university that September.

I am currently tutoring Biology and Chemistry to a GCSE and an A-level student weekly.

Since starting my medical degree, I have worked in the Vision Roadshow SMF interview workshop, providing medical school applicants from disadvantaged schools with valuable advice and practice to help them succeed at interview. I also regularly tutor Year 1-3 medical students in communication skills, clinical knowledge and OSCEs.
How much do you charge?
Tuition is £30 per hour for GCSE level, £40 per hour for A-level, and £50 per hour for university entrance exams.

Travel is included in my rates.
Where do you teach?
I am happy to teach at students' homes.

I live in Dulwich but am happy to travel around South London, including Herne Hill, Brixton, Peckham, Clapham, Wandsworth, Putney, Wimbledon, Bermondsey, Borough, Vauxhall, Kennington, Lewisham, and Croydon.
When are you available?
My current availability is Monday, Tuesday and Thursday in the late afternoons-evenings.

I am available for day sessions over the 2018 Easter Holidays.

***Only available until Friday 13th April 2018 (as I am going on my medical elective for 3 months)***
Which ages and levels do you teach?
GCSEs, A-levels and university level.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
All exams boards for GCSEs and A-levels, and UKCAT and GAMSAT university entrance exams.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Available on request.