Find UK Tuition

Amanda Burns - GCSE Science and A level Biology Tutor Barnet, Bedford

Amanda Burns A-level Biology Tutor (Milton Keynes)

Amanda Burns Gold Member

  • Sharnbrook (MK44) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 02 Apr 2018
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Barnet, Central Bedfordshire, Enfield, Huntingdonshire
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification Applied Ecology
  • Professional Qualification PGCE
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Current DBS
  • References References are available upon request


(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am a qualified teacher with 18 years experience. I aim to teach students to understand concepts rather than just learn facts. We look at exam techniques, preparing revision materials, homework and any concepts that students maybe struggling with.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I presently teach and tutor: A level biology and geography, GCSE science and geography. I have been teaching for 18 years.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I am a qualified teacher with a PGCE in sedcondary education, a BSc in Applied Ecology, 9 GCSEs (A-C), and A-level Biology, Chemistry and Geography.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have been teaching for 18 years and tutoring for 16 years. I am an examiner and a consultant specialising in exam revision classes at schools. I have been invited into schools to specifically focus on high achieving students aiming to get an A*. As I am examiner I have an in-depth knowledge of the specifcation content for QCA, AQA, OCR and Edexcel. My A level and GCSE students this year (Aug 2017) all achieved either on or above their target grades. With a large number of A and A* grade for both my tutees and my students at school. Many of my students have gained places at top universities to study a range of degrees including medicine, dentistry and biomedical sciences. I tutor students from a range of schools including QE boys, Latimer, Bedford Modern, Sharnbrook, Parmiters, St Marthas, St James and Henrietta Barnet.
How much do you charge?
I charge £40 for GCSE and A level, with £10 extra per student for 2 or more students.
Where do you teach?
I tutor from home in Thurleigh, Bedfordshire (near Sharnbrook), I am only 15 minutes form St Neots and Bedford I am available evenings and during the day (weekdays) for A level students or students who are home schooled.

I am also available at weekends in North London, Finchley, Barnet area.

I tutor on line via Skype
When are you available?
I am available evenings and during the day (weekdays) for A level students or students who are home schooled.

I am also available at weekends in North London, Barnet, Finchley Area.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach ages 11-16 Science and geography, and 16+ for Biology and geography.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I prepare students for GCSE sciences and geography, A level biology and geography.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have a DBS certificate
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I can tutor via skype or whats app. I send files and any materials via email. Payment will be made via paypal before the lesson commences.

I have a number of students who have online lessons via either Skype or What app. My online students are based from within the UK as well as around the world.
Where and with whom did you train?
Leicester university
Tell me about some of your current students.
I have an A level biologist who is retaking year 12, she failed year 12 last year but is now achieving A or B in her end of topic tests, (results are in: A!! Off to do Physiotherapy)

I am tutoring a young man in both geography and biology, his confidence has improved massively since our lessons began and his grades are improving as a result. I have spent a lot of time going through exam papers with him which has highlighted areas that he needed help with as well increasing his familiarity with the exam questions. (He got an A and a B)

I tutor 2 sisters who are now in year 10 and 13, I also tutored their sisters all the way through GCSE and A level, they are both at University now.