Find UK Tuition

Angus Davidson - Maths Tutor in Bristol

Angus Davidson Higher Maths Tutor (Falkirk)

Angus Davidson

  • Dunblane (FK15) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 16 Oct 2017
  • Sex: Male

This tutor is temporarily unavailable

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Hi, I'm Angus. I am a Cambridge graduate and have just finished a PhD in Probability at Bristol University and I enjoy providing maths tuition around my timetable. I love cooking, all sports, most of all korfball (see YouTube), and of course, maths!
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach Mathematics and Statistics.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I graduated from the University of Cambridge with a BA in Mathematics (2008) and an MPhil in Statistical Science (2009). I am currently waiting for a viva for my PhD in Probability at the University of Bristol and am enthusiastic about my subject!

At my Scottish high school I sat Advanced Highers in Mathematics, Applied Mathematics, Physics and Economics (4 A's) as well as sitting STEP papers 2 and 3 (grades S and 2 resp.).
What kind of experience do you have?
I have taught 1st year Mathematics students in Bristol University. I have also given maths tuition outside the University to a range of ages and abilities since 2011, from bottom set pupils aged 13 to very able A-level students looking for extra challenge beyond the syllabus of A-level Mathematics/Further Mathematics.

My teaching methods are flexible to the learning style of the student. I find it is more effective and more rewarding for the student to build on existing intuition rather than to enforce any particular technique.
How much do you charge?
I charge £35 per hour which includes travel to within 3 miles of my home or office. I offer a £5 per hour discount for lessons online or in my home in Dunblane. I'd be happy to tutor a group at £5 extra per hour.
Where do you teach?
I typically travel by car and teach within 3 miles of my home in Dunblane (near Stirling, UK), but I am also happy to travel a bit further (up to 10 miles for so) for an extra charge of £5 per lesson.
When are you available?
I currently work full time and only tutor on an ad hoc basis.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach from 5th year Higher (or equivalent) up to undergraduate level.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I can help prepare students for any qualification from Higher up to undergraduate degree. I can also offer tuition for more able students preparing for STEP papers or UK Maths Challenge and Olympiad Papers, (Beginner to Senior).
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have a Basic Disclosure (Scotland) dated 2017.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I use Skype for online tuition using a large whiteboard. I find it surprisingly effective, and little is lost compared to face to face tuition. I also use twiddla.com (an online whiteboard tool).