Find UK Tuition

Anna Arbiter - English Tutor in West Hampstead

Anna Arbiter GCSE English Tutor (North West London)

Anna Arbiter

  • West Hampstead (NW6) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 05 Mar 2018
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Barnet, Brent, Islington, Westminster
Contact Me


(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am a friendly tutor with a Master's in English from Oxford (distinction) and several years experience working in education. I was lucky enough to enjoy my own education, and I love passing on this positive experience of learning to my students.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I offer English tuition at any level, from primary school all the way up to degree level (including help with essay and dissertation writing). I also tutor Creative Writing at all levels, whether as part of the 11+, 13+ or GCSE examinations, or for the stand-alone Creative Writing qualification at A-Level. I have an in-depth knowledge and understanding of these subjects, and will always undertake any necessary research to make sure I'm up to date with what you need.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a Master's in English Literature from Oxford University (Distinction), where I achieved the highest mark in my year for my final dissertation. I also have an undergraduate degree in English from Bristol University, where I was awarded prizes for the study of Shakespeare and for Modern Literature.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have a wide range of tutoring experience, working with students from key stage 1 up to university level. I have prepared students for 11+ and 13+ entry to a range of independent and state schools, as well as to Oxbridge. I also have an excellent track record of supporting students to increase their grades at GCSE and A-Level, with my focused and engaging approach to teaching and learning.

In addition to offering private tuition, I have a number of years experience working in education, developing an understanding of teaching methods and supporting young people with a range of needs. From 2015 to 16, I worked as a Learning Mentor at a primary school, providing one-to-one and small group tuition to help fill the gaps in students` learning, and ultimately support them to progress back in the classroom environment. Before that, I worked for three years as a teaching assistant at a mainstream secondary school, supporting students with special educational needs to access the curriculum and achieve their best. This included working with a lot of GCSE English students, helping to prepare them for their exams.

During the last four years, I`ve been employed on a freelance basis by a number of educational charities, offering creative writing and visual arts workshops and mentoring, both within schools and alternative settings (for students who are unable to attend mainstream education).

I am currently training as a Child and Adolescent Psychotherapist, working in schools to offer support to children struggling with emotional difficulties. This experience contributes to the success of my tutoring style, which is enriched by a knowledge and understanding of the relationship between child development and academic achievement.
How much do you charge?
I charge £45 per hour. I don’t charge any extra for travel.
Where do you teach?
I am very happy to travel to my students’ homes, or to teach at my own home in West Hampstead, if that’s more convenient. I will travel to various locations across London, especially those in the boroughs of Camden, Westminister, Brent, and Islington, as well as other areas that are easily accessible on public transport.
When are you available?
I am available afternoons and evenings most days of the week, as well as on weekends. I am also available for some daytime work. We can discuss timings further when you get in touch, and find a slot that’s convenient for you.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I offer tutoring for primary level (KS1 and 2) and secondary level (KS 3, 4 and 5). I also offer degree level support, where I can share my strengths in essay writing and academic research with anyone struggling to reach their potential.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I prepare students for qualifications in English at any level, including 11+ and 13+ exams, GCSE, A-Level, and degree.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have a full and up-to-date DBS certificate, and I am also signed up to the DBS update service, which means that my certificate is automatically and regularly updated.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I am available to tutor online, via Skype.
Do you have a personal message for students?
As I always tell my students, it’s okay to struggle with your learning. Everyone finds something difficult, whether it’s putting speech marks in the right place, understanding Shakespearian language, or just getting on with your homework without feeling really, really bored. Being successful at school or university doesn’t mean forcing yourself to do things you hate. It means finding what you’re interested in, and then learning tips and tricks to get around the subjects you’re having problems with. That’s what I’m here for – to show you that, although learning can be difficult, it’s never impossible. And that, sometimes, that thing you thought you’d never be able to do, when you finally achieve it, can become your favourite thing of all.