Find UK Tuition

Art and Design Teacher in Bath - Peter J Mayes

Peter J Mayes Art and Design Teacher (Bath)

Peter J Mayes Gold Member

Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification Design - Technical Illustration
  • Professional Qualification Certificate in Performance Coaching
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check BDO1001106
  • Professional Membership N/A
  • References References are available upon request
  • View my LinkedIn Profile I'm on LinkedIn

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
It is my belief that 'anyone can draw'. My desire is to help challenge the self limiting believe that many have; that they can't.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
Art and design in general, including photography, but drawing, both conventional and digital is my main focus.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I qualified before the advent of computer aided design. I did a foundation year in general fine art and then moved on to major in illustration, particularly technical. The qualification included modules on typography, graphic design, product design and painting.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have been an educator since the early 1980s, teaching in adult education and in school. I have mentored in art and particularly drawing. In the mid 1990s I devised a programme called 'Anyone can draw; the art of challenging self limiting beliefs'. I have run this both on personal development retreats, conferences and as a module within business development programmes. I have coached and mentored a number of individuals; more than one commenting that my involvement had 'changed their lives'.
How much do you charge?
I would expect to charge £30 as a minimum. That said I am more than happy to consider helping deserving individuals.
Where do you teach?
I mainly teach at the client's home but also will welcome clients to my studio.
When are you available?
I am available most week days; less so at the weekend unless there is something particular that piques my interest
Which ages and levels do you teach?
Mainly I will help individuals from 16 upwards. If there is a younger individual who would significantly benefit from my input I am willing to discuss this. For this I do have a Criminal conviction certificate.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I have taught to GCSE level.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes, issued on 28/03/2017. I am happy to provide a copy of my DBS to students or parents.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
Would prefer not to do online; though Skype is an option
Do you have a personal message for students?
I do believe that some individuals find it easier to create art; it could be said that they have 'talent'. That said I also believe that (subject to any impediment) skill in a particular discipline can be taught. This is often seen as the 'nature/nurture' dilemma. If you have a desire to create art then I would suggest that with help you can achieve that desire.