Find UK Tuition

Art / English Tutor in Clapton - Stephen Knibbs

Stephen Knibbs A-level Art Tutor (East London)

Stephen Knibbs

  • Clapton (E5)
  • Last Logged In: 15 Jul 2017
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: City of London, Haringey, Islington, Newham, Tower Hamlets, Waltham Forest
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am a trained Sculptor from Suffolk with a real passion for teaching. I have tutored students in a variety of Art subjects. I have a patient, flexible approach to learning and would tailor every lesson to suit each student.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
Fine Art: painting, drawing, sculpture, English: Key stage 1-2, Sport: Badminton, Table tennis, Squash,Tennis
Tell me about your qualifications.
In 2009 I completed my BA Fine Art Degree from Norwich University College of The Arts graduating with a 2:2. I specialised in Sculpture where I developed a keen interest in mould making, casting techniques and honing my sculpting skills in materials such as clay, wax and plaster. In 2006 I also completed a one year Foundation Diploma in Art and Design at Norwich University College of The Arts, where I incorporated elements of painting, drawing, mixed media and sculpture into my working practice.
What kind of experience do you have?
I currently work full time as a one to one support assistant for a year 4 autistic pupil at Thomas Fairchild Primary School in Angel. I provide specialist daily support in literacy and numeracy sessions and work to develop social interaction skills through activities such as lego therapy and playground games. Throughout the week I support the lower ability pupils with Maths and English work and I lead exciting Art lessons for year 4 pupils where I teach drawing and painting techniques and model making. At weekends I have been giving private Art tuition to pupils in west London where I assist with portfolio preparation, building up sketchbook material and planning ideas and practicing drawing/painting techniques for final year projects.

I have worked as a Primary teaching assistant in Suffolk from reception to year 5, supporting pupils with reading, handwriting, numeracy and leading P.E sessions. I have experience coordinating and leading sculpture workshops for GCSE and A Level pupils in private and state schools in Suffolk. Here I gave additional portfolio support for students looking to apply for Art school and technical support in sculpting and installation for pupils that were working towards a final piece.

After Art school I furthered my practical knowledge of Art whilst living in Melbourne and Sydney for two years. I gained extensive experience working as a set builder for a leading theatre company, a sculpture technician, and assistant carpenter for a design and fabrication business. I have also worked as an Art handler for Christie's Auction house.
How much do you charge?
I charge £30 per hour for one pupil. If there are two students I will charge £50 per hour. (25/student)
Where do you teach?
I live in Lower Clapton in East London and can travel to the boroughs near my home in Hackney including Haringey, Islington, Tower Hamlets and Central London.
When are you available?
My availability during the week is evenings Monday-Friday from 5pm onwards and at weekends from 9am onwards. I am also available to help during school holidays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I can teach children from 6 years to adults of any age.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
GCSE, A- LEVEL
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes I have a recent DBS check
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
For previous online tuition, I have sent a worksheet with exact instructions for the lesson the day before and then conducted the lesson via Skype.
Where and with whom did you train?
September 1996- June 2005 Culford School, Bury St Edmunds
September 2006-June 2009 Norwich University College of The Arts
Do you have a personal message for students?
I can teach a variety of subjects and can adjust lessons to the level of the student which we can discuss over the phone before we meet. I can help pupils who are just starting out through to more professional help such as preparing for portfolios or industry requirements.