Find UK Tuition

Art/ Drawing/ Painting Tutor in Twickenham - Rachel Labovitch

Rachel Labovitch Fine Art Tutor (Twickenham)

Rachel Labovitch

  • Twickenham (TW1) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 16 Jul 2018
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Hounslow, Kensington and Chelsea, Kingston upon Thames, Wandsworth
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I teach drawing and painting in their widest forms. I see myself very much as a facilitator and want my learners to actively enjoy their sessions. I believe that if a student is relaxed and happy they will make great work and want to learn more.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach art. Particularly drawing in graphite and charcoal, painting in watercolour, gouache, acrylic and oils, collage and mixed media.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have an MA in Drawing from Wimbledon School of Art, a BA (Hons) in Fine Art from the University of the West of England, a Btec Diploma in Foundation Studies from Wimbledon School of Art, and a City and Guilds Level 3 Award in Education and Training, for teaching in Further Education.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have been teaching for 18 years, I started off private tutoring for The Tutors Group. My experience since then ranges from working with primary and secondary school children, to lecturing at Central St Martins and Kingston Universities, teaching on foundation and degree courses, and working with SEN groups, older people and adults who wish to expand their skill set.

Currently, I am tutoring with Young Artist. I see my role very much as a facilitator and enabler, and strongly believe that if a student enjoys their session then they will also create great work and learn enthusiastically. I have been closely involved with The Campaign for Drawing, championing both The Big Draw for many years, and their education arm, promoting drawing across the curriculum.
How much do you charge?
I charge £40 for one hour, £75 for two. I charge £10 per hour of travel.
Where do you teach?
I have an art studio at home which I find useful to teach from as all the materials and books are at hand. It also saves on mess in other people's houses! However I will travel within a 5 mile radius of Richmond upon Thames. I live in central Twickenham, a 7 minute walk from the train station or a bus ride from Richmond. Twickenham is 20 minutes on the train from Waterloo.
When are you available?
I am fairly flexible on availability.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach all ages and levels.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I prepare students for secondary school scholarships, GCSE and A Level exams, Foundation and University entrance portfolio preparation.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have an up to date DBS certificate which is subject to an annual update. This means it is automatically updated every year.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I consult with the students what they would like to learn. We discuss a scheme of work. Once the student has completed or in progress with work, they get in touch via Skype or Facetime and we analyse and discuss the work as per a normal lesson, and make plans for the next steps.