Find UK Tuition

Benjamin Noakes - English, History & Literacy Tutor in Swiss Cottage

Benjamin Noakes Key Stage 2 English Tutor (North West London)

Benjamin Noakes Gold Member

  • Swiss Cottage (NW3)
  • Last Logged In: 01 Jun 2018
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Barnet, City of London, Islington, Westminster
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification Eton College (79-83)
  • Professional Qualification Oxford University (92-93)

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I take pride in ensuring that my students always look forward to lessons. I believe learning should be fun and engaging, enabling students to build confidence and reach their full potential. Results can be spectacular.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
Literacy, English Literature and History
Tell me about your qualifications.
I am an experienced private tutor who studied at Eton College and Oxford University. I have 10 O'levels and three A'levels (in English, History and RE).
What kind of experience do you have?
My teaching experience started in 1992 in Hong Kong, where I taught English Language. I now tutor children and adolescents between the ages of five and 18. I have a deep love of the English language, and of History.

I have three children of my own (now aged 14, 16 and 17), and I have tried to instil in them a love of reading. My students include two brothers who were born profoundly deaf, for whom English is a second language. With patience, empathy and understanding I am helping them to master the language.

I have had two books published (I am currently working on a third), and I have also worked as a professional proof-reader and editor.
How much do you charge?
£50 per hour.
Where do you teach?
I teach at students' homes, and also by Skype.
When are you available?
I teach most afternoons and evenings, from about 3 o'clock onwards, with no seasonal variations.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach every level from age five to adults (KS1, KS2, 11+, Common Entrance and 13+).
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have a CRB disclosure certificate.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I can tutor KS2 and KS3 via Skype.
Do you have a personal message for students?
My tutoring style is adaptable and tailored to each person. At the younger end of the spectrum, I am to create a fun learning environment in order to bring out the creativity and confidence in each child. I enjoy showing young people that learning can be an adventure. At the primary and secondary level, I focus on building up self-belief and motivation to allow each student to reach their full potential and explore exciting new worlds. For more mature students, I also tailor my approach to suit the individual, mixing core concepts with more general study skills. I encourage each student to find their own way of independent learning. Goals, objectives and desired grades are identified at the beginning, followed by the creation of a tutoring schedule. I encourage students to come up with alternative ways of explaining things which may have been skated over previously/in class. Areas of weakness are identified and worked on throughout the course of tuition. Whatever your age, level or ability, I would be pleased to hear from you.