Find UK Tuition

Katherine Stiles–Biology/Chemistry/Psych/Research/Sutton/London/Surrey

Katherine Stiles A-level Biology Tutor (Sutton)

Katherine Stiles Gold Member

  • Central Sutton (SM1)
  • Last Logged In: 06 Jun 2017
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: City of London, Croydon, Epsom and Ewell, Greenwich, Kingston upon Thames, Merton, Richmond upon Thames, St Albans & Harpenden
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification Bachelor of Science: Biology & Chemistry
  • Professional Qualification Master of Education: Curriculum & Instruction
  • Professional Membership Member of Pi Lambda Theta: International Honour Society
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
My students consider me a highly effective teacher. I am experienced, well organised, motivated, enthusiastic, very supportive, with a good sense of humour; I establish rapport with my students.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
Biology, Chemistry, Neuroscience, Psychology, Research Methods, Academic Writing (including Scientific Paper and Dissertation Writing), ESL/ESOL and Study Skills. (Detailed list is provided in the Subjects section when viewing the full profile).

I teach from GCSE / IGCSE, A level and the IB (International Baccalaureate) to University level students.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I pursued my undergraduate and graduate studies in the US. I hold a 4-year Bachelor’s Degree in Biology and Chemistry from Aurora University, Illinois, and a 2-year (taught and research) Master’s Degree in Education, with emphasis in Curriculum and Instruction, from Azusa Pacific University, California, where I have also taught.

Additionally, I have gained a Teaching Credential for the State of California, and a Teaching Qualification for the EU recognised in the UK.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have had a successful thirty-year international career as an Educator, having held a variety of posts; from teaching College and University students, to training teachers, as well as providing academic and university admissions advising. My experience in one post enriched my work in each of the others since the skills I acquired in one sector could add to the quality of my work in the another. For example, knowing what the Uni admission’s process requires, when I teach, I ensure that students acquire skills, get grades, and make choices of subjects that are more apt to help them become desirable university candidates for their field of choice.
How much do you charge?
The tuition rate for each subject appears in the Subjects section above (when viewing the full profile).
Where do you teach?
I cover London and greater London as a Tutor and Independent Academic Advisor.
When are you available?
I am available to teach 7 days a week, with a fairly flexible timetable.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach from GCSE and A level up to Master’s level students.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
For GCSE and A level I do the Edexcel (the International included), AQA, OCR Exam Boards, as well as the IB, and in teaching ESL all types of certification.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
I am a member of Pi Lambda Theta, international Honour Society and Professional Association for Educators.