Find UK Tuition

Biology, Psychology, Physics, Chemistry Tutor in Mid Sussex - Evie

Evie Bentley A-level Biology Tutor (Brighton)

Evie Bentley Gold Member

Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification M.A. (Oxford University)
  • Professional Qualification C.Biol.,NCHP.
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check DBS currently being updated
  • Professional Membership Association for the Teaching of Psychology; Association for the Study of Animal Behaviour; American Psychologucal Association

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am so enthusiastic about science, how it gives us knowledge, understanding, excitement of and even awe about our world - it's amazing! And I love supporting students gain and use knowledge and understanding so they reach their goals.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach the three main sciences from Common Entrance to GCSE including KS3 , and I teach Biology, Human Biology and Psychology to A level and Highers. I have also successfully tutored for the Biology papers in the IB
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a Masters degree from the University of Oxford; I have qualified teacher status; I am a chartered Biologist (C.Biol.); I am also a former Chairperson of the national Association for the Teaching of Psychology. I am affiliated to the American Psychological Association.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have taught in state schools, independent schools, further education colleges and adult education, and I have run courses for teachers. And I have tutored privately for many years.

I write for student magazines, e.g. Psychology Review as well as textbooks as a single author and as a collaborator.
I have written on-line articles, studies and student exercises for several publishers.

I am also experienced in dealing professionally with exam stress as I am qualified as a psychotherapist on the 3 year NCHP diploma course.
How much do you charge?
My basic fee is currently £40 per hour. If I have to travel further than a 5 mile round trip I have a £5 per session additional fee.
I can do small group tuition and the cost of this varies depending on the numbers and situation.
Where do you teach?
I have a designated area at home where I teach and work, and I also visit some students in their own homes.
I travel to Horsham, Brighton, Hove, Haywards Heath and surrounding areas.
You can see more on sussexsciencetutor.co.uk
When are you available?
I am available on weekdays in term time and during parts of the school holidays.
I see students during the college day if they are allowed free time, and tutor others after school. I do not tutor in the evenings as I find students are too tired to get real worth from late sessions.
Very occasionally, as one-offs, I will tutor at the weekend.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I have taught successfully candidates for common entrance, KS3, GCSE and iGCSE, AS and A level, from 12 years old to adults, even an occasional senior citizen.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
Common Entrance separate sciences; KS3 science, GCSE separate sciences (Biology, Chemistry, Physics); AS Biology; AS Psychology; A level Biology; A level Human Biology; A level Psychology, Biology IB.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes I do, from West Sussex
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I use skype or facetime for 1-2-1 sessions as an introduction to a topic, and to go over work which I have set and marked.
Work is emailed to me as Word documents.
I use email, copied to parents, for written communication.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
I am a Member of the Royal Society of Biology and of the Association for the Teaching of Psychology. I am a committee member on the Education committee of the Association for the Study of Animal Behaviour and an Associate member of the American Psychological Association. I am a member of the NASUWT, but I do not go on strike.
Where and with whom did you train?
The University of Oxford
Tell me about some of your current students.
At the moment I have some delightful students studying for KS3 science or GCSE Chemistry,Biology and Psychology. I have several sixthform students studying for Biology, Human Biology and Psychology.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I really enjoy helping students understand and use knowledge successfully, so they enjoy subjects more and also gain much better marks and grades. I find this exciting work, and so worthwhile.I would love to help you!