Find UK Tuition

Joseph Folwell - Biology/ Science/ Maths

Joseph Folwell A-level Biology Tutor (East London)

Joseph Folwell Gold Member

  • Mile End (E3) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 19 Jan 2017
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: City of London, Greenwich, Hackney, Lewisham, Newham, Southwark

This tutor is temporarily unavailable

  • Professional Qualification Imperial College London Biology Bsc
  • Professional Qualification PGCE University of Westminster
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check DBS Certified
  • Professional Membership Co-Head of Biology at Brampton College
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
A dedicated, motivated and highly qualified teacher who is here to help. Experience in the private and state sectors of education, as well as numerous years of tutoring experience with a track record of success!
Which subject(s) do you teach?
Biology - A Level, IB, Gcse, KS3
Physics, Maths, Chemistry - Gcse, KS3
Personal Statements - written from scratch with unlimited draft adjustment for just £200!!
Tell me about your qualifications.
Imperial College London Biology Bsc
University of Westminster PGCE
Birkbeck University Climatology Msc
What kind of experience do you have?
I've been been working as a teacher for over four years. Secured a place on a graduate teaching program in a further education college, before graduating and progressing onto Saint Dunstan's College to teach Biology across the year groups. I have also been privately tutoring for the past 3 years, and was personally selected as a peer tutor whilst a sixth form student many years ago. I spent the last year working as Head of Practical Biology at Duff Miller Sixth Form College, and am now currently working as Co-head of biology at Brampton College.
How much do you charge?
Typical rate of £40/hour
Where do you teach?
I live in Tower Hamlets but teach all over London, visiting the homes of students in places such as Maida Vale, Brixton, Tooting and Clapham
When are you available?
Weekends, evenings and during the holidays e.g. Christmas, half term, Easter. Overall I am normally available during all school holidays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I typically teach from 11-18, although I have had experience of teaching access courses which are aimed at adults trying to get back into education. I teach biology across the levels(including A Level and IB), as well as maths, chemistry and physics up to Gcse.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I mainly tutor students across A Level and Gcse, however I do have a lot of experience preparing students for entrance examinations as well(such as the 11+ and 13+).
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I am more than happy to use skype in order to cater for online tuition
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
I am a member of the Royal College of Education
Where and with whom did you train?
I obtained a placement on a graduate teaching program in East London, which involved completing my PGCE across two years through the University of Westminster, whilst simultaneously teaching in science and maths in Newham College of Further Education. Working and training in a highly demanding environment such as this with students from all backgrounds I feel has developed my skills as a teacher, and as a professional.
Tell me about some of your current students.
Here is some of the feedback which I have had from the parents of students which I have taught privately:

“Annie got a B in her IGCSE Maths. In doing so, she got the highest mark she'd ever managed in a Maths exam which was good timing! She is thrilled to have passed and to have a B. Our thanks go to you and to Joseph for helping her to maximise her potential.”

“Joe is great, we will see how Nicola gets on with her end of year Maths test.”
Do you have a personal message for students?
I always provide my students with three things: motivation, subject knowledge and greater belief in their own ability.