Find UK Tuition

Matthew Barnes - The Online Biology Tutor

Matthew Barnes Biology Tutor A-level Biology Tutor (Exeter)

Matthew Barnes Biology Tutor Gold Member

Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BA/MA (Oxon) in Zoology - Oxford University
  • Professional Qualification MSc (with 'distinction') Applied Entomology - Imperial College, London. Diploma in Tropical Agriculture - Reading University
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check I have an enhanced CRB
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I stick exclusively to the task in hand of getting you through this particular academic hurdle so that you can get on with the next phase of your life.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
Biology only.
Tell me about your qualifications.
B.A./M.A. (Oxon.) in Zoology from Oxford University (Exeter College). MSc and DIC (with 'distinction') in Applied Entomology from Imperial College, London University. Diploma in Tropical Agriculture from Reading University
What kind of experience do you have?
25 years of private tutoring one-to-one and in small groups in Oxford, U.K., on all the UK G.C.S.E/I.G.C.S.E and A-level examination boards plus the IB. I have been tutoring online since March 2013 and as this has been a huge success I now teach exclusively online. The latter is nothing to be frightened of despite being 'new' - I offer a one-hour free trial online tutorial and as you can see from my many testimonials most people prefer online tuition to face-to-face once they actually try it!
How much do you charge?
£60 per hour online (£10 per hour discount for tutorials scheduled before 3 pm on weekdays).
Where do you teach?
I teach worldwide online.
When are you available?
I can work more or less any time between 11 am and 10 pm GMT seven days a week whenever I have a free slot.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
16 to adult. Mostly A-level but occasionally G.C.S.E./I.G.C.S.E and I.B. My youngest student has been 15 and my oldest 42!
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
Mostly A-level (all the major U.K. boards, ie AQA, OCR, Edexcel, WJEC, CIE) but occasionally G.C.S.E./I.G.C.S.E and I.B.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes, I have an enhanced disclosure.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I teach online via 'Scribblar' - an interactive online whiteboard, using 'Skype' audio for better sound quality. I have uploaded all of my A-level notes to Scribblar. There is no need for any downloads other than Skype if you do not have it. You just follow an e-mailed link to my Scribblar 'room' and you are in! What I write on the interactive whiteboard you see in real-time and vice-versa. It is very simple and easy to use and everybody who actually tries it loves it.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
Fellow of the Royal Entomological Society.
Where and with whom did you train?
Good tutors are born and not made.
Tell me about some of your current students.
I had 62 students on my books last year - of varying degrees of activity. Most see me once a week for extra lessons in addition to school or to retake specific modules. Most did A-level biology with one or two doing GCSE/IGCSE or IB. I seem to specialise in entry to medical school and have had 47 of my students enter medical school in recent years. I do not have any 'full-timers' at present, studying for their A-levels with me exclusively, but this is not unknown. Most of my A-level students do the A.Q.A. board, with a few doing O.C.R., Edexcel, WJEC and CIE as well as IB.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I stick exclusively to the task in hand of getting you through this particular academic hurdle so that you can get on with the next phase of your life.