Find UK Tuition

Brian Cole - A-level Maths Tutor in Dudley and Wolverhampton

Brian Cole A-level Maths Tutor (Dudley)

Brian Cole

  • Kingswinford (DY6) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 24 Mar 2018
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Sandwell, South Staffordshire, Walsall, Wolverhampton, Wyre Forest
Contact Me


(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I have a wide experience of preparing students for Mathematics examinations at all levels and have been an examiner for thirty years.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach Mathematics, Mechanics and Statistics up to A-level Maths and Further Maths. I examine for the IB
Over the last twelve years, I have tutored students, with considerable success, in both A- level and GCSE Maths
Tell me about your qualifications.
B.Sc (upper second) in Mathematics from Sheffield University 1971; M.Sc Mathematics Loughborough University 1972.This summer, I am marking Core 4 and Mechanics A-level modules as well as the IB HL Mathematics and Statistics module.
What kind of experience do you have?
I am sixty-eight years of age and have retired from full-time teaching after working as head of a faculty in a large secondary school. I have taught at secondary schools in Wolverhampton, Kidderminster and Walsall. Since retiring from full-time employment, I have worked part-time at an A-level college and as a Maths consultant assisting GCSE students in Walsall in their attempts to achieve the all important grade C. I currently work part-time in an academy teaching AS and A2 Maths. I also help a number of private tutees in either a one-to-one situation or in small groups.
How much do you charge?
The fees listed are for lessons at my home. An extra charge would be added for travel to a tutee's home depending on time and distance.
Where do you teach?
I am willing to teach/tutor in the Black Country boroughs Dudley including Stourbridge Kingswinford and Kinver,Wolverhampton including Womborne, Sandwell and Walsall or near to the west side of the conurbation in South Staffs or Kidderminster.
When are you available?
I am now retired from full time teachingso I am available on certain days throughout the week, evenings and some times at the weekend.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach students from the age of 14upwards. I can provide preparation for GCSE and A-level - Maths, Further Maths Mechanics and Statistics only.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have a current CRB disclosure certificate - November 2009 - available for inspection.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
Online tutoring via Skype
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
I am member of the NAS/UWT
Where and with whom did you train?
I trained at the old City of Leicester College of education, which I believe is now part of De Montfort university.
Tell me about some of your current students.
My current students are studying for GCSE and A-level qualifications.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I am willing to offer tuition to keen and aspiring students who need to improve their qualifications.