Find UK Tuition

Maths, 11 Plus Tuition in Sevenoaks, Kent - Brian

Brian Cairnie GCSE Maths Tutor (Tonbridge)

Brian Cairnie Gold Member

Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification B.Ed
  • Professional Qualification Dip. Ed. (Special)
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Enhanced DBS
  • Professional Membership Association of Teachers & Lecturers
  • References References are available upon request
  • View my LinkedIn Profile I'm on LinkedIn

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am a qualified secondary Mathematics teacher with additional special needs qualifications and I offer tuition in a range of subjects.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
11 Plus Mathematics, Verbal and Non-Verbal Reasoning
13 Plus Common Entrance Mathematics and Non-Verbal Reasoning
Mathematics to GCSE
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a Bachelor of Education in Secondary Mathematics and a Diploma in Special Education as well as accreditation as an NVQ and GNVQ Assessor.
I have also completed an Open University Mathematics Foundation Course, Science Foundation Course and second level Computing Course.
I also have a City & Guilds qualification in Programming.
I am also a Certified Trainer for Dragon Speech Software.
I am a memeber of The Association of Teachers & Lecturers (Trade Union) as well as The Association of Teachers of Mathematics.
I have Professional Indemnity and Public Liability insurance cover.
What kind of experience do you have?
Secondary school and FE teaching experience as well as 16 years experience of one-to-one training on specialist software packages. I have also several years experience of private tuition.
How much do you charge?
An introductory session costs £20.00 for 11+ and GCSE.
A single 'one off' session is £33.00 for 11+, 13+ and GCSE.
For booking 5 or 10 sessions and paying in advance, a discount applies of £2.00 per lesson for 5 lessons and £4.00 per lesson for 10.
Further discounts are available for larger blocks of lessons.
Where do you teach?
I am partially sighted so I cannot drive, so students travel to me for tuition in the Otford, Sevenoaks, Kent region.
When are you available?
Monday to Friday 10 am until 7 pm
Which ages and levels do you teach?
11+ upwards
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
11 Plus
13 Plus Common Entrance
GCSE
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I have access to email, Internet and Skype.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
Association of Teachers & Lecturers
Where and with whom did you train?
B.Ed at University of Northumbria
Dip.Ed University of Birmingham
Open University
Tell me about some of your current students.
Most students have completed GCSE and the recent 11+ examinations. I have one student who will be taking Common Entrance soon, and all other students are new as we are at the beginning of the academic year.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I am very patient and will explain something as many times as you need me to. I don't get frustrated or angry and I try to keep the lesson from getting stale or boring.