Find UK Tuition

French & German Tutor in Hampshire (Winchester, Basingstoke)

Brian Pickering A-level German Tutor (Southampton)

Brian Pickering Silver Member

  • Romsey (SO51)
  • Last Logged In: 06 Jun 2018
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Basingstoke and Deane, Eastleigh, New Forest, Southampton, West Berkshire, Wiltshire, Winchester
Contact Me


(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
My whole aim with teaching is to make the experience as enjoyable and beneficial as possible. I am happy to stick to the constraints of examination preparation, but I find that it is a lot better to explore all and any aspects of language as they come up. Knowing those quirky facts or suddenly recognising what was strange about Christmas giftwrap in a French shop brings language alive, and with that, you'll get so much more out of learning than maybe you thought!
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I am happy to teach and discuss all aspects of language and communication. I focus on foreign languages (German and French), with a particular interest in understanding these and other languages, but I also teach English at various levels. As well as individual languages, the cognitive processes associated with language processing are of special interest.
Tell me about your qualifications.
My first degree was in Modern Languages from Oxford; my doctorate was in Psychoacoustics and Phonetics from Oxford.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have worked in the IT industry for many years, including many aspects of speech technology (recognition, synthesis and language understanding) and user-interface design and implementation. I have taught on a one-to-one basis and to small groups French, German and Swedish; I have also done one-off talks and seminars on the brain and language. I have a wide range of experience teaching linguistics and phonetics at undergraduate level.
How much do you charge?
For one-to-one tuition, I charge £20 pre-university and £25 for undergraduate level. For any associated travel, I tend to charge a flat fee. For groups up to 5 or 6, I charge £15 per person.
Where do you teach?
I usually teach from home in Winchester, but am prepared to travel within a 25-35 mile radius.
When are you available?
I am currently available Monday, Wednesdays and Fridays during the day. Evenings are possible by prior arrangement.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
14 years and above.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
Usually, I prepare a plan of work to enable the student to progress in their chosen path without specifically focusing on examinations. I have experience with the Cambridge ESOL certificate examinations, as well as the UK GCSE and A-Level boards.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have a 2006 CRB, and there are a number of more recent checks in process.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
For basic online tutoring, I prepare presentation material for specific points, set and mark associated assignments. Contact is generally via eMail.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I have a passion for all aspects of language; I like to take what seems difficult and make it comprehensible and enjoyable. I am motivated by passing on the interest and enabling all to enjoy and explore languages with me and after.