Find UK Tuition

Maths, Physics and & Music Technology Tuition in North East London

Camilo Tirado GCSE Maths Tutor (East London)

Camilo Tirado

  • Dalston (E8) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 26 Sep 2017
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: City of London, Haringey, Islington, Lewisham, Newham, Tower Hamlets, Waltham Forest
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am an experienced teacher (14 years) & musician. I teach maths as the science of patterns; these patterns can be beautiful and pop up all around us in our everyday lives: within music, architecture, physics & computer algorithms, to name a few.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach maths, physics and music technology. I teach many different aspects of music: production, theory, performance, recording and analysis.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I graduated from the University of Huddersfield with a 1st class BA (hons) in Music Technology. I have A-levels in Maths, Physics and Music Technology, all to grade A, and an A in A/S-level Music. I have 8 A*'s, 2 A's and a B at GCSE.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have been teaching for 10 years. I have prepared students for many different exams, including GCSEs, A-Levels, 11+, QTS Numeracy, SATs, but I also teach students over the course of many years to boost their confidence and help them enjoy their studies.
How much do you charge?
Generally I charge £45 per hour. This rate will be reduced for lessons that are longer than one hour, e.g. £65 for 1.5-hour and £80 for 2-hour lessons. The exact amount depends on how far I have to travel. If students can come to me then I will charge a reduced rate of £40 per hour. I am happy to teach groups at a reduced rate (for each student).
Where do you teach?
I am based in Dalston, Hackney, East London. I am happy to travel to most parts of of North & East London, and also some parts of South East London (e.g. Deptford, Brockley, New Cross, Lewisham).
When are you available?
My timetable is quite flexible. I am happy to work evenings and weekends but weekdays are preferable (except Tuesday and Wednesday).
Which ages and levels do you teach?
The majority of my students are between the ages of 9-18, but I also teach older students who are working towards degrees and teaching qualifications.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
GCSE, A/S-level, A-level, QTS (Qualified Teaching Status) numeracy, 11+ school entrance exams (verbal/non-verbal reasoning also) and SATs
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I am happy for people to e-mail me their work for advice and feedback. Alternatively we can talk through Skype or any other means of instant messaging and I use Scribblar software to facilitate this.
Do you have a personal message for students?
The more you understand a subject, the less you actually have to memorise. Even times tables, which are generally taught by rote, can be broken down into very clear patterns. Maths is the science of patterns, and numbers are just a tool for quantifying these patterns. I really enjoy helping my students find beauty within these patterns, which hopefully makes the subject easier to understand