Find UK Tuition

Carol - Psychology, English and Biology Tutor in the Bromley area

Carol Denyer A-level Psychology Tutor (Bromley)

Carol Denyer Silver Member

  • Central Bromley (BR2) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 13 Jun 2018
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: City of London, Ealing, Hammersmith and Fulham, Hounslow, Kensington and Chelsea
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BSc (hons) Psychology; MSc Education from IOE University College London
  • Professional Qualification Post Graduate Certificate in Education (PGCE)
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check I have a current DBS (portable)
  • Professional Membership Society for Education & Training
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Formerly a university lecturer and a fully qualified teacher (PGCE). I am currently a junior partner in an educational centre, teaching A level Psychology, GCSE Biology/English and preparation for 11+ and 13+. I have a proven track record of success.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
Psychology, English, Biology, Health & Social Care, Sociology
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a Bsc (hons) in Psychology 2.1 which is conferred for the graduate basis for registration for the British Psychological Society. I also possess a Msc in Education from University College London (World ranking 1st for Education). I am a fully qualified teacher who holds a PGCE teaching Qualification. I am currently studying for an MSc in Medicinal Chemistry.
What kind of experience do you have?
5 years experience of teaching on both degree and masters courses.
15 years experience teaching in grammar and elite state schools.
5 years experience of conducting research
Trained hypno-therapist and family mediator previously working in Harley street
How much do you charge?
My fees are reasonable starting from £25 for 11+.small group sessions in my purposely designed study room in my home in central Bromley. For GCSE I will consider teaching 2 students with prior arrangement at a combined reduced rate.

From September 11+ group sessions will be held on Saturday (term time)

Included in the session price of £25

All test resources

2 Mock exams (January and June)

Student homework pack

Times:

10am - 11am

11am -12 noon

After an initial 2 week trial - sessions would be booked in half termly blocks.
Where do you teach?
I will teach within students homes or local libraries. I can travel to West London on Wednesdays and Fridays at present.
When are you available?
Monday, Thursday and Friday after school and Sundays. Also school holidays for revision sessions
Which ages and levels do you teach?
9 - 18+
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
A level psychology, health & social care and Sociology
Gcse English language & Literature
Gcse & iGcse Biology and Chemistry
11+ & 13+ common entrance exam
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I hold a current DBS which I would be happy to share.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
Society for Education and Skills
Where and with whom did you train?
Institute of Education - University College London
Tell me about some of your current students.
Present students mostly comprise of elite tennis players who spent a great deal of time on tounament and hence there was a necessity to arrange tutoring around their tennis commitments. Also I currently have 8 long term students working towards there common entrance exams.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I have a proven track record of progressing students to places they did not think they could reach. For instance one of my English GCSE students progressed from a predicted C to a predicted A in 4 months of tutoring.My 11+ students have excelled in English in just 4 months of tutoring moving from an average of 55% to a staggering 90% and over. I not only inculcate knowledge and skills but confidence and determination in students.