Find UK Tuition

Chemistry/Science Tutor in Newport/Cardiff/Bristol - Dr Gail Beuschel

Dr Gail Beuschel A-level Chemistry Tutor (Newport)

Dr Gail Beuschel Gold Member

  • Beechwood (NP19)
  • Last Logged In: 17 Feb 2018
  • Sex: Female
  • Web site:
  • Can Travel To: Bristol, Cardiff, Forest of Dean, Gloucester, Monmouthshire, South Gloucestershire, Swansea, Torfaen, Vale of Glamorgan, West Somerset
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification PhD University of London
  • Professional Qualification PGCE/QTS University of Gloucestershire
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Enhanced DBS
  • Professional Membership The Science Tutor Group / The Association for Science Education
  • References References are available upon request


(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am a secondary science teacher and PhD, with experience of teaching across sciences to GCSE and Chemistry at A Level. I work with students in South Wales, Gloucestershire, Bristol and the Southwest - helping them to enjoy and succeed in science.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach biology and physics across key stages 3 and 4, and chemistry at KS3/GCSE and A Level. I have also taught undergraduate and MA students in history and secondary science students in free and secondary school settings.

I specialise in the teaching of Chemistry at A Level, including entrance to universities in the UK, but am also happy to tutor physics and biology at GCSE and IGCSE level. I can teach across specifications and help students preparing for the IB exam.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a PGCE in Science (Chemistry) and a 1st class degree and doctorate in history from the University of London (Birkbeck/School of Oriental and African Studies).

I previously studied Biological Sciences at Lancaster University, following A Levels in Chemistry, Biology, and Pure and Applied Maths.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have studied and taught in London and Kenya, and have recently returned to teaching and tutoring after a successful leadership and management career in London and Bristol.

I teach because I enjoy helping students to thrive in science. I have helped students get to grips with challenging concepts in science, ace tests and exams, write and present better, and understand and progress in science studies more effectively over longer periods.

I am able to draw from my work and academic careers to bring extra skills and experience to tutoring. I understand academic assessment and how to study and deliver outcomes effectively. I can help students develop the behaviours and skills that top universities and employers are looking for - the tools that young people need to succeed.
How much do you charge?
I have standard charges (see my profile) that apply to tutoring arrangements per student. I also tutor small learning groups (up to four students), where students would like to study with friends. In this case the hourly charge per student reduces. For example, I would charge a single GCSE student £30 per hour. I would charge a group of three GCSE students £69 per hour, that is £23 per student per hour.

If you contact me I will be happy to provide you with a full schedule of charges. You can also view and download these on my website.

I charge a £3 surcharge for each payment by PayPal.

In addition to my standard charges, I charge travel expenses to your home at a reasonable rate. These cover time and travel costs only and will be charged at 40p per mile depending on the length of your tutoring arrangement and the distance travelled to tutor sessions. No travel charge will apply where students live within 5 miles of Newport Centre.

Varied charges may be individually agreed, where a long-term tutoring arrangement is in place.
Where do you teach?
I tutor in students' homes and am happy to travel to you.

Where my schedule allows, I will travel within a 50 mile radius from Newport, South Wales. This area includes Cardiff and Swansea, Monmouthshire, Torfaen, South and Southeast Powys, Hereford, South Gloucestershire, Gloucester, Bristol, and North and West Somerset.
When are you available?
I am available weekdays between 3pm and 9pm and on Saturday and Sunday afternoons between 1pm and 5pm.

I can generally offer lessons during term time and during school holidays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I am happy to tutor students from Year 7 through to post A-Level adult learners.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
Common Entrance
13+ Scholarships
A Level
University entrance (interviews, personal statements, UCAS forms etc.)
Postgraduate applications
Training and job applications
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes - most recent enhanced DBS check received August 2016.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
The Association for Science Education
Where and with whom did you train?
PGCE in Secondary Science at University of Gloucestershire (GITEP).
Do you have a personal message for students?
I look forward to helping you to improve your understanding and enjoyment of science subjects. Science can be a tough subject to master. But with a mind eager to learn and some additional help from your tutor, you can work it out and achieve your best a lot more easily.