Find UK Tuition

Chemistry/ Physics/ Biology Tutor in Kingsbridge - Matt L

Matt L A-level Chemistry Tutor (Torquay)

Matt L Gold Member

Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification 1st Class Chemistry BSc(Hons)
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Full, clean, enhanced DBS certificate

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am a Chemistry graduate with a 1st class degree. I have experience of working with students in both secondary school environments and in a private tutor capacity. I currently tutor face to face in the South Devon area and online.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I tutor chemistry to A-level standard and all sciences up to GCSE level.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a 1st class degree in Chemistry (graduated from the University of Wales, Bangor in 2011).

In 2017 I completed a certificate in Effective Online Tutoring with the University of Oxford.

I have A-levels in Biology, Chemistry and English.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have spent time working in several secondary school science departments - both in a voluntary and professional capacity. I worked as a Chemistry technician at a busy secondary school in Dorset where I spent time working one to one with students, demonstrating in classes and designing experiments to work alongside the syllabus in use. I also co-ran a science and technology club for year 9 students.

After several years tutoring to family and friends (and contacts thereof), I am now advertising myself as a private tutor in the South Devon area and online.
How much do you charge?
I charge £20 for a face to face session and £15 for an online session. I do offer a free, 30 minute 'introductory' session for new online students.

Each session is 50 minutes in length.
Where do you teach?
I tutor at the student's home or agreed public place (i.e. a library). On special request (and an extra £5 a session for fuel costs), I will travel as far west as Plymouth and as far east as Exeter. I am based in Kingsbridge and so naturally cover local towns such as Dartmouth, Salcombe, Totnes, Modbury, Newton Abbot, Torquay, Paignton, etc. My radius for travel is approximately 20miles.
When are you available?
I am available to tutor Monday to Friday evenings (4pm to 9pm) and weekends all day.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I will teach all ages but I will only tutor subject content at Key Stage 3 to A-level standard.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have a full, clean, enhanced DBS certificate.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I tutor online using Skype and an online whiteboard. All materials used in the session are downloaded afterwards and emailed to the student for constant referral and revision purposes.