Find UK Tuition

Chemistry/ Maths/ French & Violin Tutor in Wallington - Olivia FVE

Olivia FVE A-level Chemistry Tutor (Sutton)

Olivia FVE Silver Member

  • Wallington (SM6) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 29 Jan 2018
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Croydon, Epsom and Ewell, Merton, Reigate and Banstead

This tutor is temporarily unavailable

  • Professional Qualification Master of Chemistry MChem (Oxon)
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check DBS check valid until 26 October 2018
  • References References are available upon request


(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I studied Chemistry at the University of Oxford, graduating in 2016 with a 2.1. I play and teach violin and viola, and tutor Maths and all three Sciences. In tutoring, I help my students find answers themselves, helping both understanding and recall.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach Maths and Chemistry at all levels up to and including A Level, as well as Physics and Biology to GCSE, and French to all levels.

I also teach violin, and viola, to all levels, as well as piano and singing to beginners.

I provide support and guidance with essay writing and research projects, for example the Extended Project Qualification (EPQ) and the IB Extended Essay.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I studied Chemistry at the University of Oxford, graduating in 2016 with a 2.1.

At A Level, I took French in a year, sitting the exams a year early, before the A* grade was introduced, and achieved an A. I also I took Maths (A*) and Chemistry (A).

At GCSE, I obtained A grades in English Language, English Literature, and Physics, and Latin, as well as B grades in Music and Religious Studies. I also achieved A* in French (which I sat two years early and in which I achieved one of the top 5 marks in the country), Maths, Chemistry, Italian, and Biology.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have been working as a private tutor since October 2014, specialising in Chemistry A Level, also tutoring Maths A Level, all three sciences to GCSE, and French to all levels. I have experience preparing students for the Science exams of the Common Entrance (13+), and I also have a great deal of experience helping students with essay writing and research projects. I have experience tutoring various GCSE boards, including the new specifications, as well as A-Level, Pre-U, and IB.

My past and current students come from all sorts of different schools, and all need different things from tuition. Some students need to be encouraged and stretched, and their love for learning stimulated. Some need help getting through the very basics that will permit them to pass their GCSE. I give a great deal of thought to each student, what their needs are, and how best to help them. In the past, my students' grades have increased from 30% to 70% (IB Standard Level Maths), and from 50% to 88% (GCSE Chemistry).
How much do you charge?
I charge £50/hour for instrumental tuition, and for all subjects up to and including A-Level. I also tutor Chemistry to undergraduate degree level, for which I charge £60/hour. I do not charge for travel time.
Where do you teach?
I teach from my home in Wallington, as well as at students' homes up to about 20 minutes away by bike. Areas I can travel to include Carshalton, Sutton, Purley, Hackbridge, Cheam, Banstead, Croydon, and South Croydon. For other locations, do get in touch as we may be able to arrange something. I also tutor academic subjects online.
When are you available?
I have availability after school on Mondays, Tuesdays, and Fridays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach violin and viola to all levels, and piano and singing to beginners. Most of my students are at secondary school, but I do also teach adult learners.
I also teach separate and combined Sciences to 13+ and GCSE, Chemistry and Maths to A Level, and French to all levels.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I can prepare music pupils for ABRSM Graded exams.
I prepare my academic students for 13+, GCSE, and A Level or equivalent (Science, Maths, and French).
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have a DBS check valid until October 2018.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I tutor online via Skype, using the chat for writing, shared online whiteboard for drawing (e.g. graphs in Maths), document sharing for topic summaries, and websites with relevant topical information.