Find UK Tuition

Christine - Maths, Physics and Science

ChristineA A-level Physics Tutor (Derby)

ChristineA Gold Member

Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BSc, BA
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check CRB checked
  • Professional Membership Royal Astronomical Society
  • References References are available upon request
  • View my LinkedIn Profile I'm on LinkedIn

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am a retired teacher of physics and mathematics, and have worked as a private tutor since retirement. I call myself Christine's Maths & Physics Tuition. I tutor because I love doing it.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
A level physics, maths and further maths
GCSE maths, physics and science
KS2 and KS3 maths and science
Undergraduates needing help with maths - business, accountancy, engineering
Tell me about your qualifications.
B Sc in physics at Manchester.
Studied mathematics with the Open University and gained a BA
What kind of experience do you have?
I have over 25 years teaching experience, working in grammar, comprehensive and independent schools and an FE college. I have taught students from the age of 8 to 60. I did not want to stop teaching when I retired, so I have worked as a private tutor since then. I have also worked as an A level examiner.
How much do you charge?
From £30 to £34 per hour, depending on level. For online students, payment by bank transfer (UK) or Paypal.
Where do you teach?
I live in the Amber Valley area of Derbyshire, and I travel to students in Belper, Duffield, Derby, Ripley, Heanor, Alfreton, Ashbourne and nearby villages. Please contact me if you are unsure of the area I cover. I also tutor online.
When are you available?
Any time. Most of my teaching is in the evenings and at weekends, but I am available in the daytime, Monday to Friday. I may not be available at a particular time if a student has already booked that time. I am almost fully booked for evenings and weekends, now but have time available during the day.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
8 to 18+
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
Mainly A level and GCSE. I also work with students at KS2 and KS3. I have worked with first year undergraduates in accountancy, business and finance and engineering, who needed help with maths.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I use Skype and Scribblar, an online whiteboard. Both student and tutor can write on this. I have worked with students in India and Europe.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
I am a Fellow of the Royal Astronomical Society, a member of the Association of Teachers of Mathematics, and an associate member of the Tutors Association.