Find UK Tuition

Clare Ereira - GCSE and A Level English Tutor in Salisbury

Clare Ereira GCSE English Tutor (Salisbury)

Clare Ereira Silver Member

Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BA Hons & MA in English
  • Professional Qualification PGCE
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Enhanced Disclosure Certificate
  • References References are available upon request


(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I have many years' experience as a tutor, an examiner and also a teacher and enjoy helping teenagers and adults to reach their potential.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
English Language and English Literature
Tell me about your qualifications.
BA(Hons) and MA in English, PGCE
What kind of experience do you have?
I have worked in various schools/colleges in London (since 1986) and Salisbury (since I moved in 2004) teaching from Year 9 to GCSE and A level. I am also a senior examiner in English for GCSE with one of the major exam boards. I have done one-to-one tutoring for 20+ years.
How much do you charge?
From £32 per hour, depending on the level, with additional cost as agreed with the client if I have to travel to students' homes.
Where do you teach?
I am based in Stratford sub Castle, a short walk or drive from the centre of Salisbury. I prefer to teach at my home where I have lots of resources to hand, but can sometimes travel to other parts of Salisbury or surrounding areas if lessons are required during the day and it is not possible for the student to come to me.
When are you available?
Because I am now a full time tutor I am very flexible and can teach daytime or evenings on weekdays as required. I may also be able to fit students in on Saturdays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I have taught children from year 6 up to A level, and am experienced in teaching both children and adults returning to education. I can also help students with university level study.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
Mainly GCSE and IGCSE, AS and A2, but have also helped students prepare for the 13+ exam and Common Entrance. I have also taught year 6 students working towards the KS2 exams. I have developed quite an extensive knowledge of the requirements of different exam boards and qualification types through exam marking and teaching a variety of students and pride myself on being able to familiarise myself very quickly with any exam's requirements.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Where and with whom did you train?
I did my teacher training at the University of Greenwich in London, but have also had extensive training and experience of exam marking with one of the leading exam boards.
Tell me about some of your current students.
My recent and current students are from a range of backgrounds, taught at both state and private schools, comprehensive and grammar schools. I curently teach students from Year 8 to year 13. The only thing they have in common is a desire to improve their English skills and exam results and a willingness to put in the work that I recommend they do to achieve this. While I can never guarantee results, particularly when students come to me very late, as you can see from the testimonials and messages I have received, students almost invariably improve significantly on their expected grade with my help.
Do you have a personal message for students?
It is often difficult to ask the questions and get the individual help you need for top grades in a classroom environment. With one to one tutoring I can tailor each lesson to suit you, and address your particular needs. I have also worked as an examiner with a well known exam board for over 20 years, so have a wealth of experience and knowledge about how to achieve the best results in exams. Many of my past students have come to me from personal recommendations, have enjoyed my lessons and been delighted with what they have achieved.