Find UK Tuition

Colin Openshaw - Alexander Technique Teacher in Oxford

Colin Openshaw Alexander Technique Teacher (Oxford)

Colin Openshaw Gold Member

Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification MA (Oxon) Philosophy, Politics and Economics
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Enhanced Disclosure - May 2009
  • Professional Membership STAT
  • References References are available upon request


(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Who can learn without repeating over again?
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach French and German, English and Maths - all of them up to GCSE. I teach French and Economics up to A Level. I also offer English as a Foreign Language (EFL).

In addition, I am a teacher of the Alexander Technique and member of STAT. See my website for details -
Tell me about your qualifications.
I am a graduate of Oxford University. I also have a CELTA certificate in teaching English as a Foreign Language.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have been tutoring for over 15 years.
How much do you charge?
I charge £30 per hour at my home in Headington, Oxford. If I travel out to you, I charge a few pounds more, depending on the distance. Within the city of Oxford I will drive to you for up to £35, provided I can fit the journey into my schedule. Other locations cost a few pounds more, depending on distance.
Where do you teach?
My home is in Headington, Oxford, not far from the main shops, where I have a room set aside for my teaching space. I also travel out to teach in Abingdon, Kidlington, Wheatley, Thame, Great Milton, Stadhampton, Chalgrove and other locations within reasonable driving distance.

Some parents are happier for tuition to take place in their own home. I am happy to do this where my schedule allows.

I am also available in Bromley, Kent on Saturday mornings.
When are you available?
I can start tutoring from 3pm most days, and day time slots are sometimes available too. I do not work on Sundays. On Saturdays I teach in Bromley, Kent. I am available to teach in the school holidays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach from age 8 upwards. About a quarter of my pupils are adult learners. The majority of those I teach are GCSE and A Level candidates. I am ready to teach beginners of any age and the earlier secondary years (age 11-13).
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes, I have an Enhanced CRB/DBS disclosure certificate.