Find UK Tuition

Daisy - Violin / Viola / Piano

Daisy Watkins Viola Teacher (North London)

Daisy Watkins Gold Member

  • Crouch End (N8) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 16 Oct 2017
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Islington

This tutor is temporarily unavailable

  • Professional Qualification RNCM B(Mus) Hons

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Hello,
I really enjoy helping my students develop their relationship with music, whilst improving their skills and musicianship. We can work towards goals as varied as learning a favourite song or preparing for ABRSM grades.
Please get in touch!
Which subject(s) do you teach?
Violin, Viola and Piano.
Tell me about your qualifications.
BMus Hons from RNCM
AQA Music A-level
ABRSM Grades 8 on both Viola and Piano
ABRSM Grade 5 music theory
What kind of experience do you have?
I have played music for over twenty years, starting on the piano at the age of seven I continued my musical education on the violin. I joined youth orchestras and performed regularly up until the age of 17 when I began my studies on the viola at the Royal Northern College of Music in Manchester.

Whilst in Manchester I completed my Bachelor of Music degree, and also enjoyed exploring different genres of music. This enabled me to discover my interest in composing music and also performing in more improvisational settings. Following this I toured Germany singing and playing the viola with a folk trio. I now enjoy playing and singing with folk and jazz ensembles on the London music scene.

I have taught the violin, viola and piano privately in London for four years, working with children as young as 6 and adults as old as 62. I teach using a variety of materials helping each student to reach the goals they have in mind. I have helped my students prepare for ABRSM grades, all with pleasing results.

I have taught GCSE music composition to classroom students and I have also given music workshops for vulnerable young adults and young children.
How much do you charge?
It is £40 per hour, £20 for half an hour. If lessons are cancelled within 24hours of the lesson I am afraid that the fee in non-refundable.
Where do you teach?
Currently I am based in Haringey and I can either teach from home or travel to your home, whichever suits you best.
When are you available?
Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach all ages and standards; I have taught beginners as young as 6, young students preparing for Grade 8 and also intermediates returning to playing at the age of 62. All are welcome.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes.
Where and with whom did you train?
I trained at the Royal Northern College of Music with Professor Mark Knight