Find UK Tuition

English, Maths & Geography Tutor in Salisbury/ Wilts area

Darren Sargent 11+ exam Tutor (Salisbury)

Darren Sargent Silver Member

  • Wilton (SP2) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 17 Jul 2018
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: East Dorset, New Forest, North Dorset, South Somerset, Southampton, Test Valley
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BSc (HONS) Geography, 2:1
  • Professional Qualification PGCE, MA Writing for Children
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Full DBS certificate, dated October 2016
  • Professional Membership Full indemnity & liability insurance through Hiscox

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
This summer, I am moving from Salisbury to Southampton. I am afraid that long term tuition in the Salisbury area in the new academic year will not be possible. However, I would like to welcome onboard new tutees from Southampton.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
You can see the list above, but mainly Geography, Maths, English, Entrance Exams such as 11-Plus (together with Verbal Reasoning), 12-Plus and 13-Plus.

I can also provide Creative Writing workshops to individuals or groups.
Tell me about your qualifications.
10 'O' levels
3 'A' levels including Geography(A) and Pure Mathematics(B)
Geography BSc(Hons)
PGCE
MA in English (Writing for Children)
What kind of experience do you have?
This is my ninth year as a full-time tutor, but I was a secondary school teacher for 19 years before that. I have experienced many types of academic performance from high-performing grammar schools to comprehensives on ‘special measures’. I have taught pupils with statements and pupils gaining Oxbridge entrance. I have held a variety of positions of responsibility within schools, particularly in the pastoral system such as Head of Year. I have been a grade-A examiner for AQA (GCSE Geography). During the last nine years of 11 Plus entrance 16 out of my 28 students have passed. I have also successfully helped one parent and child through the appeals procedure for grammar selection. Four out of five 12+ and 13+ tutees have passed their exams with me.

I have taught numerous syllabi: in the last 5 years I have tutored AQA, Edexcel, OCR and WJEC at A level Geography. Indeed, I taught the whole of the A2 Edexcel Geogaphy syllabus online to one a tutee in Moscow: he has now gained a place at Aston University. I have mainly tutored the AQA and Edexcel syllabi for GCSE Maths. It would be fair to say that the overwhelming majority of my A-level tutees experienced significant gains, frequently getting A and B grades.
How much do you charge?
SUMMER OFFER: first lesson free, second lesson half price, third lesson one-third off, fourth lesson one-quarter off, fifth and sixth lessons normal prices (terms and conditions apply).

Primary school pupils: £30 per hour
11 Plus and Entrance Exams: £35 per hour
Lower School (Years 7-9): £33 per hour
GCSE (Years 10-11): £35 per hour
A-level: £40 per hour

Please be aware that I do charge for travelling over 30 miles (roundtrip: 15 miles each way):
30-40 mile roundtrip - £5
41-50 mile roundtrip - £10
51-60 mile roundtrip - £15
61-70 mile roundtrip - £20
Where do you teach?
As mentioned above, I am now moving to Southampton and will be available to teach in tutees homes from this September in the areas in and around Southampton.

I travel to student homes in an area bounded by Gillingham, Shaftesbury and Warminster in the West, Pewsey and Marlborough in the north, Andover and Winchester in the east and Bournemouth and Romsey in the south. This includes the towns of Salisbury, Amesbury and Ringwood, together with all the villages in between. Given time and space within my timetable I have been known to teach further afield in the New Forest and, occasionally, towards Basingstoke. I also teach online and, on rare occasions, at my home. Please note that when my timetable is very full, as it usually is, the distance I can travel can be severely curtailed. I am able to travel longer distances during holiday times for examination tutees that are revising.
When are you available?
I teach the majority of my pupils from 4-8pm but I am invariably available throughout the day as I am a full-time tutor. I am also available during most holiday times.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
From 9 to 18 years
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
11 Plus, Common Entrance and Late Entry exams for grammar schools, such as the 12 Plus and the 13 Plus. I am able to teach the whole of the 11 Plus syllabus - no need for an extra tutor.
GCSE: Geography, Maths and English
A-Level: Geography and English
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have a full disclosure DBS certificate dated 4th October 2016.
I also have full indemnity and public liability insurance through Hiscox.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I offer two types of ‘remote’ tuition options at the moment:

i/ ONLINE FACE-TO-FACE TUITION: face-to-face on Skype is very good in dealing with syllabus issues and reinforcing and filling in the holes the class teachers leave behind. Face-to-face tuition lends itself well to visual resources such as diagrams, maps and pictures. It is primarily discussion-based and the tutee needs to take notes as we go along. I regularly send tutees files to prepare them for the lesson and to discuss in the lesson. If a tutee comes to face-to-face tuition and expects to be spoon-fed or entertained, it just won’t work. Extra work can be set to test their written understanding. Usually, it is enough to go through topics the student struggles with. Once they ‘click’ with the topic/issue, we move onto other areas. Payment for this type of tuition is a flat fee each week to cover lesson preparation and the lesson itself. The marking of substantial pieces of work outside of lesson time such as essays will incur a modest marking fee.

ii/ CORRESPONDENCE-STYLE WITH UNLIMITED EMAIL SUPPORT: work is set through powerpoints, pdf files and word documents for the student to do on their own in their own time. This should keep the tutee occupied for between 1-3 hours each week, unless more is required. It is then returned to me within the week. I mark it and provide feedback in the form of an audio file (up to 30 mins), talking them through the various issues. Any amounts of email conversations to help the student with this particular piece of work are allowed, after feedback has been given. This is very much an ongoing and open-ended commitment, once work has been set and feedback given, and the student is totally free to contact me with any issues. As a result, the payment structure is open-ended and depends on the amount of time used to prepare resources, mark and give audio feedback. This is added up at the end of each week, and the client is then billed. Follow-up emails and support are not timed but are considered as a ‘free’ part. Generally, this time will be from about 45-90 mins per week. I keep a track of the time and endeavour to keep the time used as short as possible while setting about 1-3 hours of work. This is very much a trust system of working. I tailor the work individually to suit the student as opposed to an ordinary correspondence course that just covers syllabus content.
Where and with whom did you train?
I completed my PGCE in 1990 at Southampton University.
Do you have a personal message for students?
To make the most of tuition, a tutee must be 'on-board'. A tutee that is in-charge of their own learning makes an excellent pupil.

Read about me here: http://www.tom-brown.com/articles/tutor-or-not-tutor/

Email me and I'll send you a brochure.