Find UK Tuition

French, Latin, Greek, Classics, Philosophy Tuition in Edinburgh

Déborah Natanson GCSE Latin Tutor (Edinburgh)

Déborah Natanson Gold Member

Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification Licence ès Lettres, Université de la Sorbonne
  • Professional Qualification Msc and PhD in Classics
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check recent Enhanced Disclosure Scotland check
  • References References are available upon request
  • View my LinkedIn Profile I'm on LinkedIn

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Hello!

I am a native French speaker. I'm a full-time freelance teacher and translator. I came to Edinburgh in 2002 to start my master's degree in Classics at the University of Edinburgh, and I loved the city so much that I never left!
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach French, Latin, Ancient Greek, Classical Studies and Philosophy.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a Licence ès Lettres (French and Classics) from the Sorbonne, and an Msc and PhD in Classics from the University of Edinburgh. In 2005, I took a Tutor Training Course with the University of Edinburgh ("Effective Tutoring").
What kind of experience do you have?
I have worked as a part-time Classics tutor at Edinburgh University since 2005, teaching undergraduate students Latin and Greek (from beginners' level to Honour translation courses) as well as Ancient philosophy, literature and mythology. I was responsible for the content of the tutorials, starting and moderating group discussions and marking essays and exercises.

After I graduated for my PhD in 2009, I set up as a private tutor and translator, working one-on-one with adults wanting to learn French so they could go on holiday to France and speak with people easily, as well as school or university students preparing for their exams in French, Latin, Greek and Philosophy (National 5, GCSE, Highers, A Level and university Honours levels).

I also have experience with teaching groups, as I teach business French for several Language schools (Simon & Simon, Cactus, Capital Business Languages), and adult classes in Latin, Ancient Greek, French and Philosophy for Edinburgh Council's Adult Education Programme.
How much do you charge?
I teach exclusively online, and I charge £25/hour (I typically use Skype but I am open to other platforms). Discounts are available for paying for a block of lessons in advance.
Where do you teach?
I also offer lessons over Skype (or other platforms if preferred), and I've been working with students in the Highlands, the US, Qatar, England, and Ireland.
When are you available?
I am available Monday-Friday during the day and in the evening, and on Sunday afternoons. I am also available during school holidays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I am very happy to teach all subjects from GCSE level to A-Levels/advanced Highers, as well as Undergraduate and Post-graduate level for French, Latin and Ancient Greek.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I can prepare students for all Scottish and English exams, up to the BA. I also have experience helping students work on their Post-Graduate dissertation, in terms of content, organisation and time-keeping, including in subjects I am not very familiar with, such as Law and Medieval History.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
yes (Disclosure Scotland)
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I typically send the student the exercises we will be working on together in advance, and teach them over Skype. I have also used google docs to work on exercises, so I can correct them as they write.

The Greek polytonic keyboard works on Skype, so even Ancient Greek can be taught online.
Where and with whom did you train?
University of Edinburgh
Tell me about some of your current students.
Among my current students are a South-African lady whose 3 year-old son is being brought up bilingual, so she needs French lessons to keep up! I also teach a 16 year old girl preparing her Latin GCSE, a group of 3 retired people wanting to learn Latin (they're a lot of fun), a 17 year old girl preparing her Advanced Higher French exam (I've been working with her since she was working on her Standard Grade exam), a young disabled woman who is studying Ancient Greek on her own, homeschooled 12 year old twins learning Latin, an American University student needing extra Ancient Greek lessons over Skype, an older man in England who wants help on his journey translating Virgil's Aeneid (entirely over email: he sends me what he's done so far, and I send him back a corrected version, with grammar explanations) etc.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I am very well organised and reliable. I always spend a lot of time preparing lessons so I can be ready to answer unexpected questions! I am also very adaptable, and enjoy working with various types of people, who have different motivations for learning. Tailoring the content of the lessons to the needs and abilities of the student is something that I always try to centre my work on. I have always received extremely positive feedback (and excellent exam results when applicable) from my students, but I also take criticism very well and am quick to change the content or rhythm of my lessons when I see a certain approach is not working.

In particular, I offer:

- Grammar revisions with appropriate exercises
- Exam practice, from GCSE/Highers to Honours level
- Conversation practice
- Essay techniques
- Translation techniques
- Literary analyses of passages
- Unseen practice (translating from Greek/Latin into English)
- Prose composition practice (translating from English into Greek/Latin)