Find UK Tuition

Jamie Benzies Double Bass, Bass Guitar Teacher, Seven Sisters, London

Jamie Benzies Bass Guitar Teacher (North London)

Jamie Benzies Gold Member

  • Seven Sisters (N15) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 19 Jul 2017
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Camden, Hackney, Hammersmith and Fulham, Islington, Lambeth, Southwark, Tower Hamlets, Waltham Forest, Westminster
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Welcome! My name is Jamie Benzies, living in London I am a dedicated musician and tutor, music has taken me around the world and led to performances on BBC radio, recording sessions, countless music festivals and gigs.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
Please note that for each study, whilst 1 hour is £30, a 2 hour lesson is £50. I want to encourage 2 hour lessons as from my experience as a teacher and a student, 2 hour lessons are excellent for really getting into the learning process. It might sound long but it will fly by!

Bass Guitar and Double Bass
- On both instruments a whole range of ideas can be approached, starting from basic technique and getting to know the instrument, learning some songs you like, going on to really getting to grips with groove, all sorts of styles of music, improvisation, extended techniques (slapping, tapping etc), music theory and more. We can approach music through grades or through simply using what each student enjoys, either way we'll both learn a great deal and have fun while we're at it!
Tell me about your qualifications.
Grade 8 Electric Bass with Rockschool and grade 5 theory (2009).

After music A-Level (during which I received multiple scholarships to study music abroad) I applied to study at Berklee college of music, for which I was offered a scholarship. However by then I had got involved in the London music scene and decided to stay and seek teachers and education better fitted to my interests.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have enjoyed teaching since 2015, most of this has been private tuition however I have also led workshops teaching university undergraduate and post grad music students.

Instead of studying at a university myself I moved to London and sought to study and perform with teachers and musicians. Some of those include Mike Janisch, Michael Manring, Laurence Cottle, Mulele Matondo Afrika, John Taylor, John Riley, Nathaniel Facey, Gary Crosby, Barak Schmool, Afla Sackey, Yaw Asumandu, Merlin Shepherd and Jasper Hoiby.

Since 2011 most of my time I have been performing as a core member or session player with bands such as Don Kipper, Myriad Forest, Afrik Bawantu, King Krule, Mimika Ensemble, Ozi Ozaa and Family Atlantica. With all this practical experience of performing music I have gained experience playing rock, pop, funk, jazz, fusion, various Eastern European styles (Greek, Turkish, Balkan, Klezmer), various Afrikan styles (afrobeat, mbalax, desert blues, gnawa, highlife, soukous, Ethiopian), various electronic styles and lots of improvised music.
How much do you charge?
£30 for 1 hour
£50 for 2 hours

I will charge a travel cost If I have to travel, the amount will vary depending on the cost and time it takes to reach a student.

If a student wishes to cancel a lesson, they must let me know up to 24 hours before the lesson, if I am not given 24 hours notice I will invoice the student for the lesson. Of course under unavoidable circumstances I will withhold the invoice.
Where do you teach?
I normally teach at my home right next to South Tottenhan station, very near Seven Sisters

I often have students from local areas Stoke Newington, Stamford Hill, Tottenham, Wood Green and Archway, but I also teach students who travel from other areas of London and other cities. I am also happy to travel to my students' homes although as previously noted this may cost extra depending how long and how expensive my travel is.
When are you available?
My schedule varies from week to week, so please get in touch about availability and we can organise a time that suits us!
Which ages and levels do you teach?
Any age or level is good.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
No
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I can teach on Skype for my normal rates, please get in touch if you are interested!