Find UK Tuition

Dr Dan - Science/ Psychology Tutor in Peckham Rye

Dr Dan A-level Biology Tutor (South East London)

Dr Dan Gold Member

  • Peckham Rye (SE15) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 11 Apr 2017
  • Sex: Male
  • Web site: www.tutorbrains.co.uk
  • Can Travel To: Bexley, Bromley, City of London, Hackney, Islington, Kensington and Chelsea, Lambeth, Lewisham, Tower Hamlets, Westminster
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification MA(Cambridge), BSc, PhD (London)
  • Professional Qualification Former University Research Fellow, Lecturer and Tutor
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Enhanced recent DBS Certificate available on request
  • References References are available upon request
  • View my LinkedIn Profile I'm on LinkedIn

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I love teaching! After 15+ years as an Academic Neuroscientist, I now work entirely on bespoke private tutoring (Biology & other sciences): I help students harness their brain power, by developing knowledge, talent, confidence, and enjoyment.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
My top subjects are A Level Biology (especially Human Biology), A Level Psychology, and undergraduate Medical and Biological Sciences students, particularly for vacation knowledge consolidation and/or coursework/dissertation help.

For 13+/Common Entrance, I teach general science to students, preparing them for entrance to the school of their choice.

Tutorials can be at your home, or my office, but the majority of my students opt for the Skpe 20% discount, which offers a very visual online teaching environment, using a virtual whiteboard which can be saved and sent to students as images or a PDF file.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I graduated from Cambridge University with a BA (MA) in Modern Languages (1st) and English (2.i), and won an Academic Scholarship in 1991.

Subsequently I returned to science, and gained a BSc (1st Class) in Neuroscience at UCL, then joined the Cardiovascular Neuroscience labs at the Royal Free Hospital campus of UCL, where I completed my Ph.D in 2005.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have been teaching since I was a postgraduate at UCL (taking lab practicals and mentoring project students).

After my PhD I was worked as a Postdoctoral Research Fellow at UCL's Behavioural Neuroscience Research Group, where I gained additional laboratory experience, and frequently gave lectures and tutorials to medical and biological science students. I also mentored and supervised placement and PhD students in the lab.

In 2008 I was appointed to a senior position at a major pharmaceutical company, leading a team of research scientists, which involved regular one-to-one teaching and guidance, arranging and co-supervising a PhD project for one of my staff, giving lectures, and organising seminars and external speakers.

During my time in Neuroscience research I regularly attended and gave oral presentations at Conferences such as the Physiological Society and the Society for Neuroscience.

Finally, I have 2 years' experience in Analytics/Insights (predictive modelling and programming) in the Marketing Industry: skills which I continue to use to help direct students' progress using measurable factors.
How much do you charge?
Example standard hourly fees for visiting students at their homes:

(I)GCSE and 13+: £40
A Level: £45
Further Education: £55

i.e. there is a 20% discount on these prices for tutorials held at my office, or via Skype, as shown on the more comprehensive fee table on this profile.

Offline proofreading etc (not including marking homework, which is inclusive in my fee for standard tutorials): £20

Unless I have back-to-back students, which I try to avoid timetabling, I always give more than an hour to ensure that progress has been made, and our topic finished (typically from 15-30 mins, at no extra charge). Your education is more important to me than quibbling over a few minutes.

I offer a free introductory 30 min online (Skype) session or telephone conversation.

Summary of Discounts:

Online tutorials: 20% discount, as for the "in my office" rates shown on the profile. Tutorials are charged by the quarter hour, which is the minimum, e.g. for a burning question or quick explanation, and online tutorials are normally payable in advance for new/one-off students.

Tutorials at my office: 20% discount (i.e. the prices shown on the profile).
5 prepaid tutorial hours: 10% discount
10 prepaid tutorial hours: 20% discount

Tutorials are invoiced at or after the event, and payable within 7 days.
Normally only one discount can be used, but tailored packages can be negotiated.

Rates for visiting students at their home are inclusive of travel costs (within reason).

Other concessions for groups lessons are handled on a case-by-case basis, but are in the region of ~25% discount per additional student
Where do you teach?
I now do the majority of teaching online via Skype, but also visit some students at their homes, and have some visitors to my office.

I am situated 3 mins walk from Peckham Rye station (Overground / British Rail) with excellent connections to nearly all parts of London.

I'm prepared to travel to students if they are located within a reasonable distance.
When are you available?
I typically teach after school hours, but also during the day (e.g. for home-schooled students), and on Saturdays.

School holidays/half-terms are treated on a case-by-case basis. I don't typically take this as "time off" - this is often when the most work is done!

If I go on a short break, or a longer vacation during the Summer holidays, I always remain contactable by email and Skype.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
Most frequently I teach A Level and under-/postgraduate students, but have had many GCSE students (with whom I've been particularly successful in re-awakening interest in a subject which they no longer/never liked!)

Adult Learners are welcome, as are any students needing to learn e.g. anatomy and physiology for sports medicine, physiotherapy, speech therapy or nutrition courses.

I will also teach students for the 13+ Exam, but have less experience with students younger than that.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
A Level
AS Level
GCSE
IGCSE
13+
BSc/MSc
MBBS (or equivalent Medical degree)
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have an up-to-date enhanced DBS Certificate; clients may request sight of the original.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I approach online tutoring as I would face-to-face: a telephone or email appointment is set, students are sent the necessary files and learning materials they need in advance, together with a Lesson Plan.

During the session, teaching is typically a mixture of direct instruction and explanation, interactive discussion, screen sharing, and ends in an agreement on, say, a homework assignment, and the next topic to be covered.

In some cases, urgent and short (15-30 minute) Skype sessions are given, for example to explain/recap a topic or answer a burning question.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
Current Member of the Tutors' Association

Amongst other, I have also held the following memberships, when appropriate to my work at the time:

Member of the Physiological Society of Great Britain (Full Appointed Member)
Member of the British Pharmacological Society (Full Appointed Member)
Member of the Society for Neuroscience
Member of the European Sleep Research Society
Member of the World Sleep Federation
Where and with whom did you train?
I trained as PhD student with Professor David Jordan and Professor Andrew Ramage at UCL (Royal Free Hospital Campus), and as a postdoctoral researcher with Professor Christopher Yeo (at UCL Bloomsbury Campus).

In addition to my University Qualifications, I find it very helpful to have a dedicated mentor.

In terms of personal tutoring skills, I have received excellent and invaluable support, guidance, and ongoing mentoring since 2015 from a former retired line manager and his wife (a former school teacher) who run a very successful tutoring business in the U.S. (names and details available on request).
Tell me about some of your current students.
My students seem to fall into two categories:

1. "The Essay Crisis": highly stressed and exasperated students, often Undergraduates, have come to me for last minute help with essays, dissertations, and revision. Thus far I have always managed to provide and immediate calming, reassuring and practical solution, making immediate recommendations on style and content, and devising a clear and realistic plan for successful delivery on time and with quality. Under no circumstances will I participate in plagiarism of any type, but offer guidance on scientific arguments, phraseology and prose style, appropriate graphics and other illustrations, and accurate proofreading.

2. "The Long-Term Arrangement": these are my most frequent students, who will be seen on a regular (usually weekly) basis, and with whom I develop a clear understanding of their requirements, preferences of teaching style and content, and a good friendly working relationship with student and parents alike. Parents/Clients are involved at all stages (e.g. I never communicate by email with underage students without copying in the client) and receive regular verbal and written reports. Where students are taken all the way to exam time over many months (as is usual) reports will include clear measurable analysis of progress, to ensure your desired target is met with confidence, genuine interest in the subject, and minimal stress.
Do you have a personal message for students?
Whether you're an A* student wanting a prestigious career (Oxbridge / Medical School), or are struggling with a subject that seems "just not my subject, but I have to do the exam"; whether you love or hate science, I can help.

I do my utmost to enable you to achieve your desired goal, but ultimately you will be the one sitting the exam.

But when the time comes, we will have worked up your confidence and knowledge base, and the exam will just be another few exciting hours in your life!

Finally, there is more to life than just exams and exam preparation. I am an enthusiastic writer and will gladly write learning materials, summaries, explanations, example essays, or help you to polish up your own written work or project.