Find UK Tuition

Hilary Burt - Dyslexia, Reading, Early Years English Tutor in Brighton, Hove, Lewes

Hilary Burt Dyslexia Tutor (Brighton)

Hilary Burt Gold Member

Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BA Hon with QTS (Qualified Teacher Status)
  • Professional Qualification Postgraduate Certificate in Dyslexia and Literacy - distinction for teaching practice
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check DBS Certificate
  • Professional Membership PATOSS: the Professional Association for Teachers and Assessors of Students with Specific Learning Difficulties
  • References References are available upon request
  • View my LinkedIn Profile I'm on LinkedIn

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
My lessons are known for their relaxed nature bringing out the best in my students using humour as well as hard work to achieve each child's educational goals.

I am a dyslexia specialist who focuses on children who are under performing at school.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
Hello. I am a dyslexia tutor covering phonics, phonological awareness, reading development, spelling development and handwriting. You do not need a report to say your child is dyslexic - if you feel your child is seriously under achieving and struggling at school, I may be able to help.

I mostly offer 45 minute sessions for £36 but I do have a few hour sessions during the week.

I have had great success with under confident children who are not being recognised in class or who are slipping through the net due to shyness or being overwhelmed with the curriculum.

I specialise in making the basics of English (phonics, spelling, learning to read) interesting and acceptable for KS2 children who may have missed out on chunks of Year 1 and 2 or who found it went too fast the first time round.

I am also a composer and musician.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I qualified as a teacher in 1986 gaining the BA Hons with Qualified Teacher Status. Between 2004-5 I completed the Postgraduate Certificate in Dyslexia and Literacy. I also have a degree in music studying at Middlesex University 2002-2004.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have taught primary aged children since 1986 - first as a class teacher and later as a tutor. Since 2005 I have specialised in teaching children with dyslexic tendencies.

I also compose and play piano, sax and flute.
How much do you charge?
I charge £36 for a 45 minute lesson or £45 an hour per student.
Where do you teach?
I teach from my garden office one minute from Brighton Station so most of my students are from Brighton & Hove. Because of my proximity to the station I am also able to teach children from areas within East and West Sussex including Lewes, Newhaven, Peacehaven, Polegate, Hailsham, Worthing, Haywards Heath and Burgess Hill. My office is a 1 minute walk from Brighton Station.
When are you available?
Term time: I teach after school from 3.45pm.

If all my after school sessions are full and I am around, I offer holiday sessions in the summer.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach children aged 7-11 years of age.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have a DBS certificate from 2014.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
I am a member of PATOSS (Professional Association for Teachers of Students with Specific Learning Difficulties). I also have Approved Teacher Status with the British Dyslexia Association.
Where and with whom did you train?
I trained as a primary school teacher at Warwick University (1982-6) and then in 2004-5 I completed my qualification in Dyslexia at the Dyslexia Institute (now Dyslexia Action).
Tell me about some of your current students.
Many of my children have been slipping through the educational net at school since they are not deemed needy enough to receive enough extra help at school. They are certainly not achieving their potential. Often their confidence has suffered greatly and they may be anxious about their abilities. The parents have often seen an Educational Psychologist privately and send that report to me. I am able to address their needs more specifically on a 1:1 basis.

At the moment most of my young students have dyslexic tendencies and they range from Year 2 through to Year 6.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I am very friendly and I'm sure you will enjoy your lessons with me; you will learn a lot and have more confidence in school; I will encourage you to do your best and reach your potential; finally, I love dogs although there will not be one in the lesson! We used to have a Dalmatian which is why I am called Spotty Dog Tutoring!