Find UK Tuition

Dyslexia/ English/ Maths Tutor in Dudley - Dr Jean Perry

Dr Jean Perry Dyslexia Tutor (Dudley)

Dr Jean Perry

  • Brierley Hill (DY5) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 23 Nov 2017
  • Sex: Female
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am a highly qualified and experienced specialist teacher for Dyslexia and other specific learning difficulties. I love to enable people of all ages to reach their full potential. Please contact me to discuss your needs.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I mainly teach English and Maths for Dyslexic children. I also enjoy supporting older students and adults with study skills and technical writing skills for projects and exam preparation as I have experience of studying at higher levels myself (I have a Ph.D.).
Tell me about your qualifications.
• Edge Hill University (2012) - Postgraduate Certificate in teaching and assessing for specific learning difficulties(Professional)
• University of Wales, Bangor (2003) - Advanced Certificate in teaching for Specific Learning Difficulties(Professional)
• Plymouth University (1984) - Research in applied botany (Doctorate)
• Bath College (1980) - Teaching qualification leading to QTS (PGCE)
What kind of experience do you have?
I have twenty years experience teaching and supporting students with Dyslexia, Dyspraxia, and Speech and Language difficulties. I was the Special Needs Coordinator and specialist literacy and numeracy teacher at a school in Cumbria (ages 4 - 13) for twelve years. I have also taught children who are out of school for various reasons and worked as a teacher and assessor for learners of all ages at a Dyslexia Action Centre.
I taught my own children at home for a couple of years.
How much do you charge?
I generally charge £30 per hour for individual lessons that take place at my home in a dedicated teaching room. Discount available when booking a block of ten lessons in advance. I offer one off consultation sessions for advice and assessment at £45 per hour.
Where do you teach?
I only teach from home in a fully equipped and dedicated teaching room. The location is very near to Kingswinford and Dudley. It is within easy reach of Birmingham, Wolverhampton, South Staffordshire, Shropshire and Worcestershire.
When are you available?
I am available on Mondays after 3pm; all day Friday and Saturday mornings. Evening consultation times available on request.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach all ages from age 5 with the emphasis being on overcoming the learning difficulties associated with Dyslexia.
I have a flexible approach to suit the learner's needs.
I always spend time carefully assessing any background information with you and helping to formulate a personal learning plan for you or your child.
My learning sessions are varied and enjoyable. I like to use a wide array of multi-sensory resources and games, particularly for younger children who are struggling with reading, writing or number skills.
The first few sessions would generally include information gathering and some assessment to get a clear starting point from where we can make progress towards your learning goals.
I only work from home in order to keep the cost of lessons down.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have an up to date DBS Certificate and appropriate professional insurance for working from home.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I can tutor online via email, Skype or Facetime for students and adults needing assistance with completing dissertations or essays.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
I am a member of the Dyslexia Guild and Education Otherwise.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I love to enable people of all ages to reach their full potential and can help to remove the barriers to learning and boost confidence. I have a friendly and calm personality and lots of patience. Both young children and adults soon feel comfortable with me and are able to engage fully with teaching which is individually tailored to their needs.