Find UK Tuition

History Teacher and Dyslexia Tutor Gloucestershire - Joanna Gleed

Joanna Gleed Dyslexia Tutor (Gloucester)

Joanna Gleed

  • Coaley and Uley (GL2) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 24 Feb 2018
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Cotswold, Forest of Dean, Gloucester, South Gloucestershire

This tutor is temporarily unavailable

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
The biggest compliment I was ever paid was when I was told I could relate to anyone; no matter age, ability or background. If you think you need some support, help or advice, please contact me and I will do my best to help if I can.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I am an accredited dyslexia teacher as I have Approved Teacher Status (ATS) by the British Dyslexia Association (BDA) and I am a qualified dyslexia teacher with several years teaching KS3, GCSE and AS and A2 level. I am a qualified history teacher with experience in history and humanities as well as English support. I can work to develop literacy strategies, subject support, revision strategies as well as general education approaches. I can also help with study skills, building confidence, supporting to develop engagement with school. If you are dyslexic or need support with a young person with specific learning difficulties I may be able to help you.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a Level 5 Post Graduate Diploma in Teaching Learners with Dyslexia and Specific Learning Difficulties as well as a PGCE in Secondary Teaching in History.
I am accredited by the British Dyslexia Association (BDA) with Approved Teacher Status (ATS).
What kind of experience do you have?
I have many years of working with secondary and further education students. I have worked with many student on academic coaching and study skills. I have also a lot of experience teaching and supporting students with dyslexia and specific learning difficulties. I have a wealth of experience teaching all ages, abilities and backgrounds outside the classroom. I can help make learning, whether for school homework or indeed exams, more approachable and less stressful.
How much do you charge?
I charge from £25 per hour. If you are interested, I usually organise an introductory session to go through with you any concerns, arrangements and for me to complete an initial assessment.
Where do you teach?
I teach at students' homes and will be happy to travel in a rough 10 mile circumference: Almondsbury, Alveston, Stonehouse, Dursley, Cam, Berkeley, Thornbury, Stroud, Quedgeley, Wotton-under-Edge, Uley, Tetbury. A38 corridor. Although please contact me if you think I can help and it is just outside my area.
When are you available?
I work during the school terms typically from 15:00 until 20:00 during the week, Monday to Friday. Although I may be available if you require a day slot.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I can teach 11-18 years at secondary school, as well as 18-21 years for support at college or university. I also have experience with primary age students. I also have experience with adult learners specifically those who have been diagnosed later in life with dyslexia or specific learning difficulties.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
A Levels, GCSEs, undergraduate degrees, postgraduate degrees, adult learning
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have a current DBS Certificate.
Do you have a personal message for students?
Approachable and patient, I focus on allowing students to help themselves. I hope to instil confidence and improve motivation to believe in their own abilities. So if you're stressed, need some practical advice in revision, building up motivation or just in the day to day studies of school, college or your education let me see if I can help.