Find UK Tuition

Early Years Education/ SEN/ Dyslexia Tutor in Surbiton - Joanne Brown

Joanne M Brown Reading Tutor (Kingston upon Thames)

Joanne M Brown Silver Member

This tutor is temporarily unavailable

  • Professional Qualification BA Hons in Education, Elklan qualification for Language and Communication
  • Professional Qualification QTS

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am a qualfied teacher who has worked with children for 15 years. I tutor 3-7 year olds with phonics, reading, writing, maths, social interaction, language development (DLD), behaviour and physical development including SEN.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I work with children to develop their early language development, phonological awareness (pre reading skills), phonics, reading, handwriting, writing, social skills, maths, school readiness, physical and behavioural needs.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I am a qualified teacher and have taught in classes up to year 2. I have been an Early Years leader (3-5 year olds) and senior leader in an infant school. I have a level 3 ELKLAN qualification for language and communication which has lead to me working with children in a special provision unit for children with developmental language disorder.I enjoy working with children with Special Educational Needs and Disabilities including those with Autism, Dyspraxia, Dyslexia and Specific Learning Difficulties as well as children in mainstream education or homeschooled.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have a wide variety of experience including working in language and communication centres as a specialist in language and communication. I have a passion for the development of interaction, pre reading and developing reading with children. Prior to teaching I travelled around North East Surrey and showed teachers and teaching assistants how to work with children with SEN including ASD, language delay or disorder, social interaction needs, Dyslexia and Dyspraxia. I am able to read and understand Educational Psychology or Speech Therapy reports which means I can adapt them for the home setting or school. I believe that children learn through everything they do and experience and as adults we can adapt how we engage with the child to benefit them.
How much do you charge?
£40.00 per full hour.
Where do you teach?
I tutor at my students' homes in the areas of Surbiton, Kingston, Richmond, Hampton, Walton, Esher, claygate and Shepperton. If you wish to contact me, please could you include your town address.
When are you available?
I am available Monday to Thursday, day time or evenings.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach 3 to 7 years olds in Maths, Reading, Writing, SEN and language delay. Feel free to contact me regarding SEND needs for older children with a brief description of the child's need, age and where the tutoring would take place.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I would prepare the children for the year one phonics check, work towards individual educational plans (IEPs) and outside agency reports e.g. Educational Psychologist and Speech Therapy.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
DBS dated September 2014