Find UK Tuition

Maths & Economics Tutor - Calum Proctor - London

Calum Proctor A-level Economics Tutor (South East London)

Calum Proctor Gold Member

  • Brixton (SE5)
  • Last Logged In: 10 Apr 2018
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Bromley, Hammersmith and Fulham, Islington, Kensington and Chelsea, Kingston upon Thames, Lewisham, Richmond upon Thames, Southwark, Wandsworth, Westminster
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BA (Hons) PPE, Oxford University - double first
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check I have a 2017 DBS check
  • Professional Membership London Mathematical Society
  • References References are available upon request
  • View my LinkedIn Profile I'm on LinkedIn


(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I have an exceptional academic record, including a double first in PPE from Oxford.
I thoroughly prepare each lesson to meet your child's needs, and work with their learning style to make complex concepts clear.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I offer mathematics, economics, politics, philosophy, and related subjects at all levels from KS1 to undergraduate (including A Level and GSCE). Other subjects are available by request.

Mathematics: I have received a distinction in every paper of my maths BSc to date. My coursework average is 98%. My course supervisor states that I have "consistently turned in near perfect assignment scripts - clear, correct and well expressed... he has the academic knowledge and skills required to tutor students up to A Level and beyond."

Philosophy: I was tutored by a world-leading expert on the British idealists. The philosophers I have studied in depth include Aristotle, Kant, Hume, Spinoza, and Mill. I have studied ethics and metaphysics extensively, as well as free will/determinism. I also have a keen interest in early Greek philosophy.

Politics: At university, I specialised in political theory and modern British politics. My tutor is now a serving MP.

Economics: I have studied micro- and macroeconomics in depth, including game theory, the agent-principal problem, the IS-LM and IS-PC-MR models, growth economics, and the open economy. I came first in my college in the ‘Quantitative Economics’ paper.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have two first-class degrees, including a double first in PPE from Oxford University, and am on course for another (in mathematics).
I came top of my college in my econometrics paper at Oxford, and was awarded college bursaries for academic achievement.
I have a first class honours degree in English and Russian from Edinburgh University.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have taught a broad range of subjects in the UK and internationally over the last 20 years.

I am extremely adaptable and, in addition to the subjects listed above, have taught business studies, history, close reading, literary analysis, and exam/essay technique, as well as devising and teaching a beginners’ business Russian course. I have significant TEFL experience, including at the Oxford English Centre.
How much do you charge?
My basic fees are £65/hour for A Level and above and £55 for levels up to and including GSCE.
Online lessons are £5/hour less.
I charge an extra £5/hour at weekends (Saturday and Sunday).

I also offer our first lesson at half price, so that you can be confident that I am the right tutor to enable your child to achieve their full potential.

Group rates are negotiable.

Due to non-payment/persistent late cancellation by a small minority of clients, after the first lesson I typically ask for payment in advance.
Where do you teach?
I teach wherever suits my students. I am happy to travel to students’ homes, or to meet at a local library or coffee shop as appropriate.

I am willing to teach across Greater London, including (but not limited to): Angel, Battersea, Bermondsey, Blackheath, Bromley, City of London, Croydon, Hammersmith and Fulham, Islington, Kensington and Chelsea, Kingston-upon-Thames, Lewisham, Merton, Richmond-upon-Thames, Southwark, Wandsworth, Westminster.

I also regularly tutor remotely (via Skype, etc.).
When are you available?
I am available by appointment throughout the week and at weekends.
I am also available between lessons for additional support by telephone, text, messaging, and email (at no extra charge).
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I have taught students from 8 to adult, from primary to final year undergraduate level. I have also taught a full range of abilities, from A*- to E-grade.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
A Level (all modules)
Others by arrangement
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have a DBS certificate issued in December 2016 as a result of my work for Bliss, the charity for premature and sick babies.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I can tutor via Skype, Google Hangouts, and similar services. I use an interactive online whiteboard where appropriate.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
I am a member of the London Mathematical Society
Do you have a personal message for students?
Whatever your academic history, I will bring clarity and order to complicated concepts. I will tailor my lessons to your needs, and enable you to acquire the confidence and skills you need to succeed.