Find UK Tuition

EFL/ KS2 English & Maths Tutor in Moseley - Sarah Nation

Sarah Nation Key Stage 1 English Tutor (Birmingham)

Sarah Nation Silver Member

  • Moseley (B12) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 06 Jan 2018
  • Sex: Female
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BA Honours Degree, English Language & Literature, University of Birmingham
  • Professional Qualification PGCE, University of Southampton
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Up to date Enhanced DBS Certificate


(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am a qualified teacher and experienced tutor. I derive great satisfaction from tutoring because I can see students succeeding and growing in confidence, even with one hour a week of tuition.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
English at Key Stages 1 & 2
Maths at Key Stages 1 & 2
EFL/ESOL & IELTS preparation

I try to make lessons fun and relaxed where possible, although students need to understand that learning also involves hard work! Every lesson is individually tailored to the student's needs. I begin by finding out what level the student has actually attained, which is not necessarily the expected level for his or her age.
Tell me about your qualifications.
BA Honours Degree, English Language & Literature, University of Birmingham

PGCE, University of Southampton

Certificate in Teaching English as a Second Language to Adults, RSA
What kind of experience do you have?
I worked as an EFL tutor for Birmingham City Council for 12 years, teaching classes of adult students at all levels.

In 1999 I started giving tuition in EFL to adults and in maths and English to children at Key Stages 1&2.(I am a qualified primary school teacher)

I am the mother of a grown-up son, so I have also experienced the education system from the point of view of a parent.
How much do you charge?
£25 per hour.
Where do you teach?
I usually teach from my home. I find this works best for most children. They can have difficulty concentrating in their home environment, particularly if there are other children in the house who are not studying at the time. Also, at home I have all my teaching resources readily to hand.
When are you available?
For primary school children I am available Monday to Friday from 3.30 pm to 5.15 pm.

For adult EFL students I am available Monday to Friday from 9.30 to 2.30 pm.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
Maths at Key Stages 1 & 2

English at Key Stages 1 & 2

EFL to adults.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
Key Stage 1 & 2 SATS in Maths & English.

Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Tell me about some of your current students.
I am currently teaching English & Maths to several children at Key Stages 1&2.

I am currently teaching one adult EFL student who is from Cambodia & in the last few months I have taught adult EFL students from India, Pakistan and Poland. All of these students have been studying for IELTS exams.
Do you have a personal message for students?
In my experience, children of all abilities can benefit from one-to-one tuition because the lesson is designed just for them and no-one else. If they are struggling with their school work I can help them with their particular problems and they will feel happier and more confident. If they feel bored at school because they are not being stretched, I can provide them with an opportunity to learn some interesting things at their own level.