Find UK Tuition

EFL Tutor in W Kensington - Chris Heaton

Chris Heaton English as a Foreign Language (EFL) Teacher (South West London)

Chris Heaton Gold Member

  • Fulham (SW6) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 19 Apr 2018
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Brent, Kensington and Chelsea, Wandsworth, Westminster

This tutor is temporarily unavailable

  • Professional Qualification BA in Oriental Studies (Cambridge)
  • Professional Qualification MSc in Cognitive Science (Edinburgh); CELTA (London)
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check DBS up to date, last checked in October 2016
  • View my LinkedIn Profile I'm on LinkedIn

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am an experienced English language teacher, with four years' experience teaching in the UK to upwards of 50 nationalities, and three years (in the distant past!) in Japan. For me the key to success is to establish a good relationship with a student.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
English for all purposes - conversation, pronunciation, exams (Cambridge, IELTS), business, etc.
Tell me about your qualifications.
My first degree is from the University of Cambridge, where I graduated with a first class degree in Oriental Studies.
I also have a Masters degree in Cognitive Science and Natural Language from the University of Edinburgh.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have been teaching English to students of all levels for the last four years. Three of those years were at a large language school in central London, and one year was spent in the North of England. Of course I have lost count by now, but I guess that I have taught students from at least 50 or 60 countries.
How much do you charge?
My bottom line is £40 per hour. London is an expensive city! Of course the initial consultation/trial lesson will be free, to make sure that we are both/all comfortable with each other. Reduced rates are available for groups.
Where do you teach?
I live near to West Brompton station, so can travel to anywhere within a few miles of that. For the time being I'll be restricted to public transport, but I hope within a few weeks of posting this profile (8/6/2017) that I'll have brought my bicycle down to London and will therefore be able to ride around, and lose some of the excess flab around my tummy.
When are you available?
I'm teaching in the morning and afternoon at a school in central London, so am available strictly on evenings and weekends.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I am happy to teach people of any age and any level. The only important criterion for me is that there should be a relaxed and respectful relationship between student and tutor.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I have extensive experience with teaching the Cambridge exams (especially FCE), so that's my area of specialisation, but other than that I'm happy to help with anything.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes, I got an updated certificate in the autumn of 2016, which lasts for two years from the start date.
Where and with whom did you train?
I did my teacher training (CELTA) at Oxford House College, one of the larger English language schools in central London